Notes and Bibliography:

Full footnote or endnote citation:

Note Number. Editor name, ed., Full title (Publisher, Year), Page.

Example:

18. Harrison E. Salisbury, ed., Anatomy of the Soviet Union (Nelson, 1967), 176.

Shortened footnote or endnote citation:

Note Number. Surname, Short Title, Page.

Example:

18. Salisbury, Anatomy, 176.

Entry in a bibliography:

Surname, First Name, ed. Title. Publisher, Year.

Example:

Salisbury, Harrison E., ed. Anatomy of the Soviet Union. Nelson, 1967.

The use of the abbreviation "ed." is used after the name of the editor in the full footnote and the bibliography, but not in shortened footnote.

Notes and Bibliography:

Full footnote or endnote citation:

Note Number. First author/editor name and Second author/editor name, Full Title (Publisher, Year), Page.

Example:

1. Nicole Pope and Hugh Pope, Turkey Unveiled: A History of Modern Turkey (The Overlook Press, 2011), 19.

Shortened footnote or endnote citation:

Note Number. Surname and Surname, Short Title, Page.

Example:

1. Pope and Pope, Turkey Unveiled, 19.

Entry in a bibliography:

Surname, First Name, and First Name Surname. Title. Publisher, Year.

Example:

Pope, Nicole, and Hugh Pope. Turkey Unveiled: A History of Modern Turkey. New York: The Overlook Press, 2011.

Name order - note that the format for the second author's name is First Name Surname in the bibliography entry.

Editors -  The use of the abbreviation "eds." is used after the name of the second editor in the full footnote and the bibliography, but not in shortened footnote.

Notes and Bibliography:

Where a source has three to six authors or editors the first author or editors name is given in the footnote followed by et al. (Latin for "and others).  In the bibliography entry all author or editor names should be given.

Full footnote or endnote citation:

Note Number. First author/editor name, et al., Full Title (Publisher, Year), Page.

Example:

11. Gregory J. Dees, et al., Enterprising Nonprofits: A Toolkit for Social Entrepreneurs (Wiley, 2001), 170

Shortened footnote or endnote citation:

Note Number. Surname, et al., Short Title, Page.

Example:

11. Dees, et al, Enterprising Nonprofits, 170.

Entry in a bibliography:

Three authors or editors:

Surname, First Name, First Name Surname, and First Name Surname. Title. Publisher, Year.

Example:

Dees, J. Gregory, Jed Emerson, and Peter Economy. Enterprising Nonprofits: A Toolkit for Social Entrepreneurs. Wiley, 2001.

Six or more authors or editors:

Surname, First Name, First Name Surname, First Name Surname, et al. Title. Publisher, Year.

Example:

Holt, Nigel, Andy Brenmer, Ed Sutherland, et al. Psychology: The Science of Mind and Behaviour. McGraw-Hill: 2019.

Name order - note that the format for the second and subsequent author's name is First Name Surname in the bibliography.

Editors - The use of the abbreviation "eds." is used after the name of the final named editor in the full footnote and the bibliography, but not in shortened footnote.

Notes and Bibliography:

Where a source has more than six authors or editors the first author or editors name is given in the footnote followed by et al. (Latin for "and others). Only the first three are given in the bibliography followed by et al. 

Full footnote or endnote citation:

Note Number. First author/editor name, et al., Full Title (Publisher, Year), Page.

Example:

12. Robert Costanza, et al., An Introduction to Ecological Economics, 2nd ed. (CRC Press 2015), 127.

Shortened footnote or endnote citation:

Note Number. Surname, et al., Short Title, Page.

Example:

12. Costanza, et al., Ecological Economics, 127.

Entry in a bibliography:

Surname, First Name, First Name Surname, First Name Surname, et al. Title. Publisher, Year.

Example:

Constanza, Robert, John H Cumberland, Herman Daly, et al. An introduction to Ecological Economics. 2nd ed. CRC Press, 2015.

Name order - note that the format for the second and subsequent author's name is First Name Surname in the bibliography.

Editors - The use of the abbreviation "eds." is used after the name of the final named editor in the full footnote and the bibliography, but not in shortened footnote.

Notes and Bibliography:

If a publication is issued by an organisation, association, or corporation  and carries no personal author’s name on the title page, the organisation is listed as author in a bibliography, even if it is also given as publisher.

Full footnote/ endnote citation:

Note number. Organisation full name, Full title (Publisher: year), page.

Example:

3. World Health Organisation, The IDC-10 Classication of Mental and Behavioral Disorders: Clinical Descriptions and Diagnostic Guidelines (World Health Organization, 1992), 24.

Shortened footnote/endnote citation:

Note number. Organisation full name, Short Title, page.

Example:

3. World Health Organization, IDC-10, 143.

Entry in bibliography:

Organisation full name. Title. Publisher, Year.

Example:

World Health Organization. The IDC-10 Classication of Mental and Behavioral Disorders: Clinical Descriptions and Diagnostic Guidelines. World Health Organization, 1992.

Notes and Bibliography:

If the author or editor is unknown, the footnote or endnote and biography should begin with the title.  Entries in the bibliography are alphabetised from the first significant word (excluding words like "A", "The", "An", etc.).

Where an author or editor is known or guessed at, but the details are not included on the title page of the resource, the name is included in square brackets in both the footnote or endnote and the bibliography.

Where author / editor is unknown:

Full footnote / endnote citation:

Note number. Full title (Publisher, Date), page.

Example:

6. Primary Colors: A Novel of Politics (Random House, 2006), 67.

Shortened footnote or endnote:

Note Number. Shortened title, page.

Example:

6. Primary Colors, 67.

Entry in bibliography:

Full title. Publisher, Year.

Example:

Primary Colors: A Novel of Politics. Random House, 2006.

Where author / editor is known or guessed at:

Full footnote or endnote:

Note number. [First Name Surname] Full title (Publisher, Year), page.

Example:

8. [Henry Adams], Democracy: An American Novel (Henry Holt and Company, 1880), 15.

Shortened footnote or endnote:

Note number. [Surname] Short title, page.

Example:

8. [Adams], Democracy, 15.

Entry in bibliography:

[Surname, First Name]. Title. Publisher, Year.

Example:

[Adams, Henry]. Democracy: An American Novel. Henry Holt and Company, 1880.

Where a work has an original author or editor and has been translated, you need to include the details of the author/editor and the translator.  You only include details of the translator in the bibliography.

Full footnote or endnote:

Note Number. Author name, Full title, trans. Translator name. (Publisher: year), Page.

Example:

12. Leonid Zhmud, Pythagoras and the Early Pythagoreans, trans. Kevin Winder and Rosh Ireland. (Oxford University Press, 2012), 118.

Shortened footnote or endnote:

Note Number. Author Surname, Short Title, Page.

Example:

12. Zhmud, Pythagoras , 118.

Entry in a bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name. Title. Translated by First Name Surname. Publisher, Year.

Example:

Zhmud, Leonid. Pythagoras and the Early Pythagoreans. Translated by Kevin Winder and Rosh Ireland. Oxford University Press, 2012.

Name order - note that the format for the translator's name is First Name Surname.