Skip to main content
Banner Image

A-Z Databases: Welcome

List of the databases you can use to access journal articles, reports, conference papers, ebooks, newspapers, and many other resources.

Accessing JSTOR

There is currently a fault with JSTOR causing problems for all UK institutions, unfortunately JSTOR have reported they don't expect the issue to be fixed until the end of October, we're following this up urgently.

In the meantime we have a work around which will allow access to JSTOR resources. Whenever you need to access JSTOR itself, or a JSTOR article (this could be something in your online Reading List):

  • Log-in to JSTOR through this link, or the links found on the Library's A-Z Database (this guide).
  • At the University SSO page, enter your username and password.
  • Once signed in search JSTOR for the article you need - putting the article title into quotations is probably the best way to limit the number of results, helping ensure you find your article quickly.

We will continue to press JSTOR to fix the problem, and hope we will see a return to normal service soon.

Top 5 databases

Below is a list of the top 5 most used databases this academic year, so far!

Remote Access

If you have problems accessing resources when you are away from the University, we can help!

Check our Remote Access guide, we have video demos and screenshot examples of how to access lots of resources.

However, we may not have subscribed to every journal that a database lists. If you cannot access an article after you have logged in with your University username and password, check SAULCAT the Library catalogue for the journal title to see if we have access and what years this access covers.

Get in touch, chat, email, call (+44 1334 462331/2) or Tweet and we'll get back to you as soon as we can.

Your e-Resources

Here is a list of all of the databases you can access through the University. Use the tabs to find the database title you want.

We subscribe to many databases so that you can access journal articles and other material online.  

Using this guide look out for the below information:

On-campus access: means you should not need to login and can access this resources seamlessly within the University network

Off-campus access: Click the more... link where it appears next to a database for off campus details - most need your University Username and Password

It's not working!

Asking for payment


Problem signing in

  • Caught in a loop? Does your browser keep returning you to the same page? This can happen if you are using Chrome, please try another browser, such as Firefox or Safari.
  • If there is no institutional sign in option or the information on our remote access guide doesn't help, please email

Problem viewing files

  • If you can't open PDFs, if you are using a Mac, please make sure Adobe is set as the default viewer, Preview will not open some files.
  • Try locating the PDF in your downloads folder rather than opening it within your browser, or try another browser as Chrome sometimes cannot open files, try Firefox or Safari.

Ask a Librarian Chat

If you have a question, please ask us! Chat below - chat is available 9am - 5pm, Monday - Friday. Outwith these times, please email us:

Key to icons

contains images
full text
mobile access
  Open Access
  Subscibed, login needed

Ask us a question