Early American Fiction 1789–1875 offers the full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.
Formerly part of LION (Literature Online)

Series II complements Series I by offering more than 200 significant 18th and 19th-century newspapers. Series II focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of American newspapers rose dramatically. Based primarily on the newspaper collection of the American Antiquarian Society, Series II also includes titles from the holdings of the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society and other organizations.

digital facsimiles of nearly every book published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and other works in English printed from 1473-1700 (Formaerly available via JISC Historical Texts)

A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500–1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form. Early English Prose Fiction offers the full text of works by key writers such as John Bunyan, Sir Philip Sidney, Thomas Nashe and Aphra Behn, and has been produced in association with the Salzburg Centre for Research on the Early English Novel.
Part of LION (Literature Online)

traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the end of the 17th Century, with full-colour, facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources

digitised images of more than 300 volumes of 16th-century music from the British Library

Contains all Arabic editions of the Koran printed in Europe before 1850, as well as all complete translations directly from the Arabic (until about 1860). Among the secondary translations, only those into German and Dutch are offered completely. Of the partial editions, only the typographically or academically most interesting ones are presented. This collection is an integrated part of Brill's Quranic Studies Online.

The Eastern Miscellany online database presents the complete archive of one of the most significant publications of the Chinese
intelligentsia in the first half of the twentieth century and a significant chronicle of Republican-era China in superbly produced
full-image and full-text format with rich indexing. The Eastern Miscellany, as it is known in English, and formally entitled
Dongfang zazhi (東方雜誌), was published by The Commercial Press [上海商務印書館], one of the most venerated academic
publishers in China, from 1904-1948—a period that predates and entirely covers China’s Republican era (1912-1948). This
coincides with a period of extraordinary transition in Chinese society, from the collapse of the Qing Dynasty and two millennia of
Imperial China, through periods of warlord rule, Japanese invasion, the Second World War, communist revolution, and the
formation of today’s People’s Republic of China.

gives access to a variety of Russian databases and publications including The Moscow Times, Moscow University Press journals, Russian Social Sciences & Humanities collection, Literaturnaia Gazeta and Pravda Digital Archive

An Open Access database of PhD Theses. All entries include an abstract, and a link to the full-text of the thesis.

a collection of scholarly journals, part of OCLC FirstSearch. 1995 - to present; updated daily. Select Eco from the database list.

Access to the online edition of The Economist since 1997 with sections on world politics, business and finance, economics, science & technology and culture. Includes articles, audio versions, podcasts and the app. Access to "The World in" and "1843 magazine" is also provided

facsimile of the weekly paper covering 1843 - 2014

A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift.

Formerly available through JISC Historical Texts. A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion. Full text searchable transcriptions to every page.

collection of edited correspondence linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century

a collection of 40 accounting, finance and economic journals covering a wide range of topics including accounting, corporate finance, financial regulation, social and environmental auditing and socio-economic development

a collection of 20 marketing titles including the highly ranked European Journal of Marketing

the Britannica Academic Edition which includes the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus and a number of periodicals

over 21,000 entries on Jewish life, history, culture, and religion, written by international subject specialists

a unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature

covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches in order to be as objective and versatile as possible. All relevant fields in Arabic linguistics, both general and language specific are covered. Includes topics from interdisciplinary fields, such as anthropology, psychology, sociology, philosophy, and computer science.

The Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics offers a systematic and comprehensive overview of the languages of China and the different ways in which they are and have been studied. It provides authoritative treatment of all important aspects of the languages spoken in China, today and in the past, from many different angles, as well as the different linguistic traditions they have been investigated in.

offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.
With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, theEncyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online is the authoritative reference work for students and researchers in the fields of Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields.

eLS features over 4,800 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences. Articles are reviewed by a distinguished international scientific advisory team

full-text; perpetual access to the most comprehensive reference work on the Qur'an to appear in a Western language, with nearly 1,000 entries. Part of Brill Online

web based version of the Endnote program (which is available on all library/classroom PCs). Can either be used as a standalone version or it is possible to synchronise with the desktop version

English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century - the likely date of the Shrewsbury Fragments - to the early twentieth. It offers exhaustive coverage of the prodigious dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas. In addition to works by major dramatists such as Ben Jonson, Aphra Behn, William Wycherley, Oliver Goldsmith, Richard Sheridan, Oscar Wilde and J. M. Synge, English Drama includes the dramatic writings of many more neglected writers long inaccessible in print form. The database contains works acted on or intended for the stage. It includes masques, interludes, short dramatic pieces, translations and adaptations, closet dramas, and works written for children.
Formerly part of LION (Literature Online)

An annotated collection of primary source documents on British history covering the years 500 -1914, plus American history to 1776.

English Poetry, Second Edition redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the achievement of the original English Poetry collection with enhanced functionality and the addition of more than 20,000 poems. The most comprehensive archive of English verse available now offers incomparable representation both of the literary heritages of former colonial countries and of the poetic legacies of English writers who have only been brought back to scholarly attention during the last thirty years.
Formerly part of LION.

produced by the US Department of Education. Provides access to education-related articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, books and monographs. 1966 to date

details of over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly in the British Isles and North America, and mainly - but not exclusively - in English. From the collections of the British Library and 2,000+ other libraries. 1473-1800

over 1800 documentary films as well as video, written ethnographies, field notes, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over

the British Library's catalogue of UK doctoral research theses. 100,000 are available or downloading, many others can be requested for on-demand scanning (up to six weeks). Self-registration/login is required for downloading.

Online bookshop, library and archive containing publications from 1952 produced by the EU and it's founding institutions. PDF and Ebook versions are free, a charge is made for print versions of materials.

Access to EU legal documents and legislation as well as the Official Journal of the EU.

Provides information on the holdings of 48 Libraries in Europe, including National Libraries and leading European research libraries.

Includes the full-text of more than 9,500 English, French and German titles. The Corvey Collection comprises one of the most important archives of Romantic era writing in existence anywhere—including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more—with a focus on especially difficult-to-find works by lesser-known, historically neglected writers. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

provides free access to thousands of items of archived European TV footage

This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness. In addition to proprietary essays, photographs, graphs and charts, Exploring Race in Society includes: thousands of full-text articles from academic journals; government agency reports curated and provided by HeinOnline; full-text articles, primary source documents and speeches from BlackPast, a leading source on African American history and experience; journal content covering issues related to race, including those of Indigenous communities