It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The ADS Library brings together material from the British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography (BIAB), the ADS library of unpublished fieldwork reports as well as documents from the ADS archives and archaeological publishers such as Oxbow
a powerful electronic Bible concordance and morphological analysis program. It includes texts of the Hebrew O.T., Greek O.T. and N.T. and a wide range of English and modern foreign language texts, Bible dictionaries and other aids.
Available on networked PCs in the Library and classroom PCs via Apps Anywhere.
The Bibliography of American Literature describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930. More than 37,000 works are listed, essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Part of LION (Literature Online)
authoritative guide to articles on British and Irish history, from the Roman period to the present day, from over 600 journals and essay collections. Covers British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and Commonwealth
55 BC - to present; updated 3 times yearly
free resource from the Getty; covers over 4,300 European and American Art History periodicals, plus books, dissertations, exhibition catalogues, proceedings, etc. Covers fine, decorative and applied arts. Can be cross-searched with the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
1975-2007; updated quarterly
The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. A total of approximately 13 million word forms are thus accessible electronically. The user interface allows various and differentiated searches. Classical scholars and ancient historians are provided with a valuable tool for both research and the preparation of teaching at school and university level. Each year, the database is extended by the texts of the newly printed Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Teubneriana
Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. Available with up to 18 million records from 1926.
index of journals, meetings, patents, and books in the life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Freely available in perpetuity to all UK HE
New resource merging Birds of North America & Handbook of the birds of the world alive. Birds of the World will be a living, scholarly publication that integrates content from several renowned ornithological resources, including Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive, Birds of North America, Neotropical Birds, Bird Families of the World, and the Internet Bird Collection. Integrated with millions of data points from eBird and rich media resources from the Macaulay Library, Birds of the World will be the definitive resource for pursuing questions about birds. Birds of the World will provide scientists, students, conservationists, and birders with the sharpest picture yet of the biology of the world’s birdlife, fostering understanding and protection of one of the earth’s most precious natural resources.
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education; Users can record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and an extensive archive of tv and radio broadcasts. You can create and share playlists and clips. NB: BoB is NOT AVAILABLE outside the UK.
An international bibliography in the field of book and library history, BHO "provides a comprehensive survey of all scholarly publications written from a historical perspective. Included are monographs, articles and reviews dealing with the history of the printed book, its arts, crafts, techniques and equipment, its economic, social and cultural environment, as well as its production, distribution, preservation and description.
The database includes more than 120,000 Chinese books published in Mainland China during the period of 1840-1949. Many of them are the unique titles and only available through this digital collection from the Shanghai Libarary.
Book Sales Catalogues Online offers a comprehensive bibliography of book sales catalogues printed in the Dutch Republic before 1801, providing full access to some 4,000 digital facsimiles from ca. 50 libraries across Europe. The catalogues contain information on books from all over Europe in various languages, such as Dutch, French, and Latin.
Brepols’ Cross-Database Searchtool allows simultaneous searching of the Library of Latin Texts Series A & B; Monumenta Germaniae Historica; Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature and the Aristoteles Latinus Database
A database providing access to over 6,000 full-text e-books. Brepols’ home page includes access to the Library of Latin Texts Series A & B; Monumenta Germaniae Historica; Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature and the Aristoteles Latinus Database
provides clear and current articles, biographies, country comparisons, e-books, images, news, 'On This Day', timelines, quotations, videos, world data analysis, etc - all clearly cited and referenced, providing research material for students and staff.
The Archive of the British Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS) and connected collections from UK universities covers astronomy, biology, technology, industrial design, chemistry, engineering, mathematics, agriculture, meteorology, physics, history of science and STEM, and government grants for scientific research. It contains primary sources, such as administrative records, correspondence, illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, prototypes, clippings, personal papers and gray literature.
national collection of over 150,000 British social and political cartoons, the work of over 250 British cartoonists, held at the University of Kent; includes 15,000 cartoons from the Carl Giles Archive, which includes rare seaside postcards as well as political cartoons
provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK, with strong coverage of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs.
A collection of freely available database containing British primary and secondary sources, and Premium sunscription content including Calendar of State Papers 1537-1714; Calendar of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland; Parliamentary Roles of Medieval England; and Calendar of Close Rolls
over 50,000 unique sound recordings from all over the world, covering the entire range of recorded sound - music, drama and literature, oral history, accents and dialects, sound recording history, wildlife and environmental sounds. Smaller subset of sounds is available without logging in at http://sounds.bl.uk
British Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen.
Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Covering the long nineteenth century, the collection includes papers of British statesmen, Home Office records, ordnance surveys, working class autobiographies, and other unique collections. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Contains primary sources related to the arts in the long Nineteenth century, including playbills, scrips and scores, curated by British Arts History experts. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Includes both original volumes Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), and three supplement volumes, including the indexes. Brockelmann’s Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. This originally multivolume reference work is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature.
business research database containing over 2,300 journals in marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics; also includes market research reports, industry and country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Part of EBSCOhost. 1886 - present; updated daily