Ebook Collections: Home

This guide highlights a range of ebook collections, giving details on the content of the collections, and how to use them

About e-books

University of St Andrews Staff and Students have access to a range of E-books, some bought individually, others belonging to packages.  

How can I find what E-books are available?

Search the Library to find e-books.

Enter a subject, keyword, author or book title.  In the results, in the left hand side select "Library Catalogue" and "Online" to only see the e-books with full-text access:

How do I view the content of Ebooks?

Most Ebooks are subscription resources, you will need to login with your University of St Andrews username and password to view the full content.

  • All Ebooks will give you access to the full-text online.
  • Some Ebook collections are supplied DRM-Free (Digital Rights Management Free) - allowing you to download and keep, or print as much of the ebook as you want.  Some Ebooks are supplied via an Open Access license - these are DRM-Free and can be accessed without a subscription
  • Some Ebooks can be downloaded for use off-line, but access is for 24 hours and the donwload will automatcially be removed.  You won't be able to print, copy or annotate the download.   You may need to download reader software to use these, such as Adobe Digital Editions or BlueFire.
  • Some Ebooks will restrict the amount you can print or download in accordance with UK Copyright or publisher restrictions.
  • Some Ebook collections limit the number of people who can use them at the same time.   

What E-book Packages can I use?

Details on each of the Ebook packages can be found on the tabs on this page. 

Epub format

Some Ebooks can be downloaded, but have an EPub format - to access these you'll need a reader installed.

For PCs, MACs and some e-readers you will need to install Adobe Digital Editions.

Adobe Digital Editions isn't compatible with most tablets, instead you will need to install the Bluefire Reader App.

Links to Adobe Digital Editions and Bluefire Reader sites are below.

More books

If you find that the library doesn't have a book which you require for your own research you can use the Inter-Library Loans Service

If you think a book would be a useful addition to the Library collections, please let us know.

Staff should email the details of the book to their Academic Liaison Librarian

Students can email details of the book to morebooks@st-andrews.ac.uk

Ask a Librarian

Need help? Chat to Library Staff, Monday - Friday, 9.00-17.00 using the box below.  When "Ask a Librarian" is unavailable email library@st-andrews.ac.uk with your question.