English: Home- Key Resources for English
Useful Links
New books on English & American Literature in the Library
Key Resources
- University of St Andrews LibrarySearch the University's Collections. Find print and electronic books, journal articles, rare books, archives, photographs, theses and research publications and museum items.
- British Library CatalogueSearch the main catalogue for books, journals, newspapers, printed maps, electronic resources and sound archive items held at the British Library
- WorldcatSearch over 2 billion records held at more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.
Below is a list of the main databases which provide onlineaccess to literary texts. Additional resources for primary texts are listed on the Specialist Databases tab.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) via Proquest This link opens in a new windowdigital facsimiles of nearly every book published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and other works in English printed from 1473-1700.
- Early European Books This link opens in a new windowtraces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the end of the 17th Century, with full-colour, facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources
- Historical Texts This link opens in a new windowformerly known as Jisc Historic books, full-text; contains the full text or page images of over 350,000 books published in Britain from 1475 to 1900. The service draws together content from two of the best-known and long established early book collections: Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) plus 65,000 19th century books from the British Library collection
- ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new windowFull-text of more than 500,000 primary works (poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present) including rare texts, multiple versions and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances and author readings. Citations to journals, monographs,dissertations and book reviews, many of which are in full-text.
Below is a list of the key databases for literature. These provide more functionality than Library search and are particularly useful if you want to look at a range of materials on a specific author or look at a literary period or literary movement. Literature Online will allow you to search the contents of Literature Online and the ABELL bibliography at once. More specialist databases relating to individual authors or literary periods/genres are available by clicking on the Specialist Databases tab at the top of this guide.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new windowListings of articles, books, reviews, etc., on British, American, and Commonwealth literature; selective full-text. Covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including material in languages other than English.
Part of Proquest One Literature (Formerly part of LION)
- ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new windowFull-text of more than 500,000 primary works (poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present) including rare texts, multiple versions and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances and author readings. Citations to journals, monographs,dissertations and book reviews, many of which are in full-text.
- MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowindex to over 4,400 international journals and series, 1,000 book publishers, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies on literature, language, linguistics and folklore, from 1920's onward. Produced by the Modern Language Association of America.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowindex of articles from the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Useful for cited reference searching
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowperiodicals archive of over 2,000 leading scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Over fifty million pages of content
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowa large multidisciplinary abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Useful for cited reference searching
Subject Guide
University of St Andrews Library, KY16 9TR
Tel: 01334 462298
Get lean library for easier access to eresources
Ever been stuck behind a paywall for a journal article, newspaper article, or ebook?
Lean Library is a browser add-on that makes it easier to get access to these resources. Land on a webpage where you can't access a resource and Lean Library can give you a link directing you to the full-text version available through the Library subscription, or an open-access version. It saves you time looking for a login button or having to go back to Library Search to look up a title.
You can install the Lean Library browser add-on in most browser download.leanlibrary.com/
More information about Lean Library can be found in our guide libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/lean