hundreds of TV and radio programmes from the BBC’s Shakespeare collection

Over 11,000 archive films from the British Film Institute's national and regional archives.

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education; Users can record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and an extensive archive of tv and radio broadcasts. You can create and share playlists and clips. NB: BoB is NOT AVAILABLE outside the UK.

covers classic, contemporary and international theatre. Includes over 450 leading theatre productions, in depth interviews exploring creative and technical theatre-making processes and essays and documentaries covering theatre history, theory and practical techniques

over 1800 documentary films as well as video, written ethnographies, field notes, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over

an online streaming service providing access to films and top documentaries. Access is available to a small number of titles only, selected to support current teaching needs.

Drawing on 10 years of National Theatre Live broadcasts as well as recordings never previously seen outside of the National Theatre's archive, the video content includes 19 video performances in the initial release expanding to 30 video performances. As a supplement to the filmed productions, exclusive digitized archival materials such as photographs, scripts, costume designs, and more will be available to provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information

Over 50,000 unique sound recordings from all over the world, covering the entire range of recorded sound - music, drama and literature, oral history, accents and dialects, sound recording history, wildlife and environmental sounds. Smaller subset of sounds is available without logging in at http://sounds.bl.uk

digital sound database - 'the world's most comprehensive collection of classical music online' - containing the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues and titles from 50 other labels; allows streamed access to over 75,000 CDs with more than 1 million tracks. Over 800 CDs are added monthly; 7 concurrent-user access

five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries featuring some of the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses

over 1.5 million digital images in arts, architecture, humanities & sciences, from international museums, photographers, libraries, photo archives, artists, etc. Also has relevance to anthropology, classics, history, literature, music, religion.

Millions of rights-cleared images that can be used by University students and staff for educational purposes. (Please credit photos with Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest and the date retrieved.)

Access to the amazing wealth of photography held within the Special Collections Department of the University of St Andrews Library. Here you will find masterpieces of very early photography from one of the world’s outstanding collections, as well as thousands of images taken by masters of the art, both professional and amateur, over the last century and a half.

Scottish learning resource base with over 360,000 images & media from museums, galleries, archives and the media

a collection of images 'primarily intended to support research and teaching purposes within the University'. Includes the extensive Art History Slide Collection, and the Corpus of Scottish medieval parish churches

unique archive of the complete Picture Post, the pioneering illustrated newspaper published in Britain between 1938-1957, and containing thousands of images

The UK Medical Heritage Library is the culmination of a three-year project between JISC, the Internet Archive, the Wellcome Library and nine other partner institutions to digitise more than 15 million pages in over 66,000 works. With full colour page scans, PDF downloads and OCR machine-generated full text for all publications, the collection is a valuable resource providing a broad and diverse range of relevant publications from the 19th century (Formerly available via JISC Historical Texts)

presents a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science. Over 260,000 full colour pages, fully searchable and browseable

national collection of over 150,000 British social and political cartoons, the work of over 250 British cartoonists, held at the University of Kent; includes 15,000 cartoons from the Carl Giles Archive, which includes rare seaside postcards as well as political cartoons

more than a thousand photos from classic Shakespeare productions.

fully searchable colour images of 65,000 items from the Bodleian Library's John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in the 18th, 19th and early 20th Centuries