This database is an electronic version of the complete print edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day. It runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. The entire Acta Sanctorum is available, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices along with Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers.

key texts of modern African literature with unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing. Includes works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko and Nadine Gordimer. Includes The Heinemann Book of African Women's Poetry. Now part of Literature Online database

British Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen.
Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.

explores the study and analysis of gender. Primary sources from the fifteenth to early twentieth century provide an insight into both traditional models of gender and contemporary perceptions

access to the core collection of over 1700 playtexts from Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare, and Faber and Faber. Also includes access to over 650 Nick Hern Modern Plays.

digital facsimiles of nearly every book published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and other works in English printed from 1473-1700.

digital facsimiles of nearly every book published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and other works in English printed from 1473-1700.

traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the end of the 17th Century, with full-colour, facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources

Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains a variety of printed materials including books, Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements published from 1700–1799

primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present.

formerly known as Jisc Historic books, full-text; contains the full text or page images of over 350,000 books published in Britain from 1475 to 1900. The service draws together content from two of the best-known and long established early book collections: Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) plus 65,000 19th century books from the British Library collection

Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Compiled and edited by Stephen Behrendt of the University of Nebraska, the database also offers numerous biographical and critical essays prepared by leading scholars specifically for the project

fully searchable colour images of 65,000 items from the Bodleian Library's John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in the 18th, 19th and early 20th Centuries

developed as the medium for reproducing broadcasts, The Listener (1929-1991) was the weekly newspaper published by the BBC. As well as commenting on and expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, The Listener also previewed major literary and musical programmes and regularly reviewed new books. It also provided an important platform for new writers and poets, with W. H. Auden, Sylvia Plath and Philip Larkin being notable examples.

online primary resources relating to written and early British printed material, covering the period 1000 to 1500

The Mass Observation Archive is a huge database of diaries, directives, surveys, photographs and reports collected in the UK from 1937-1992

digitised full-text historical sources for Medieval and Early Modern Britain. Published by Tanner Ritchie with some material from the University of St Andrews Library's Special Collections

Primary source materials covering social, cultural, political, science and religious perspectives from 12th to early 18th centuries. Sources include manuscripts relating to Arthurian legends, early music, renaissance man, masculinity 1600-1800 and medieval and early modern women as well as several other areas.

unique resource containing collected letters from five families from 15th Century England. Manuscript images are in full colour with accompanying searchable transcriptions

unique resource containing collected letters from five families from 15th Century England. Manuscript images are in full colour with accompanying searchable transcriptions

searchable full-text primary sources for the 'long' 19th century (1789-1914). Collections include: British Politics and Society, European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; and British Theatre, Music,and Literature: High and Popular Culture

digital collection of 538 English mediaeval manuscripts held by the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, which span from the 6th Century Gospels of St Augustine to 16th Century records relating to the English Reformation

The database is a searchable collection of literary, political, scientific and sociological works focusing on the period between 1800 and 1830. It includes primary texts and works from previously unrecognized writers from Britain, the British Empire and North America, as well as critical essays written specifically for this collection.

a fully searchable version of the Print Edition, including all the original introductions, collations, and commentary. It also includes an array of textual and contextual materials.

Collected, uncollected and unpublished prose of T.S. Eliot. Currently includes the following 8 volumes - The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot, Apprentice Years, 1905-1918, The Perfect Critic, 1919–1926, Literature, Politics, Belief, 1927–1929, English Lion, 1930–1933, Tradition and orthodoxy 1934-1939, The War Years 1940-1946, a European Society 1947-1953 and Still and Still Moving 1954-1965

Access to the modern critical edition, the critical reference and authorship companion.

coverage of Shakespeare's work, critical reception, textual history, performance history and cultural and historical context. Includes the complete Arden
Shakespeare, primary sources, historical editions, contemporary criticism and the facility to compare texts on screen.

full-text; contains the major work of W.B. Yeats in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism and fiction, collected in 22 volumes.