History: Home
Special Collections
The University Library has an extensive and rich Special Collections.To search for books use Library Search or use the search on the Special Collections page. Not all of the collections are yet in the catalogue, so it may be best to contact Library Staff if you are seeking a resource.
Please note that visiting is by appointment only, email readroom@st-andrews.ac.uk to discuss your requirements and to arrange an appointment.
Resources for Palaeography
Search the Library
Get lean library for easier access to eresources
Ever been stuck behind a paywall for a journal article, newspaper article, or ebook?
Lean Library is a browser add-on that makes it easier to get access to these resources. Land on a webpage where you can't access a resource and Lean Library can give you a link directing you to the full-text version available through the Library subscription, or an open-access version. It saves you time looking for a login button or having to go back to Library Search to look up a title.
You can install the Lean Library browser add-on in most browser download.leanlibrary.com/
More information about Lean Library can be found in our guide libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/lean
Online Reference Collections
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowincludes over 250 volumes of the Cambridge Histories, including a variety of subject areas including American and British History, Language and Linguistics, Political and Social Theory and Literary Studies
- CREDO Reference This link opens in a new windowoffers over 650 major reference books - dictionaries, encyclopaedias, thesauri, biographies, books of quotations, atlases and quick reference works on every subject
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowa database of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Over 58,500 people included
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new windowentries contain detailed etymological analysis, and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world, making the OED a unique historical record. Updated quarterly
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new windowArabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish and Portuguese
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowa collection of over 125 core academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries
- Who's Who and Who Was Who This link opens in a new windowa directory of the noteworthy and influential in every area of public life, published worldwide. Who Was Who includes 100,000 people, now deceased, who were included in previous editions of Who's Who creating the definitive roll-call of British history.
