History: General Databases
Guide to Resources in History
These are general databases that are useful for for finding both books and journals. Please note that they are not always full-text and the Library may not subscribe to all the titles on them.
For a complete list of all the Library's Databases see the A-Z List.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new windowFull-text; over 5000 scholarly Humanities e-books, covering archaeology, art history, area studies, folklore, history, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in Library search.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowindex of articles from over 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and relevant articles, reviews, proceedings in more than 5,000 social science and science journals.
- ARTstor Digital Library This link opens in a new windowover 1.5 million digital images in arts, architecture, humanities & sciences, from international museums, photographers, libraries, photo archives, artists, etc. Also has relevance to anthropology, classics, history, literature, music, religion.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowperiodicals archive of over 2,000 leading scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Over fifty million pages of content
- Library search This link opens in a new windowa single access point to many of the Library's e-resources - databases, e-journals, e-books and print books.
- OCLC FirstSearch Databases This link opens in a new windowAccess to: ArticleFirst; ClasePeriodica; Ebooks; ECO; ERIC; GPO; MEDLINE; OAIster; PapersFirst; Proceedings; WorldCat; and WorldCatDissertations. For on-campus links to individual titles please use the direct link under the name of the resource on the A-Z.
- Old Maps Online This link opens in a new windowa free portal giving access to over 400,000 historical maps in libraries around the world
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowa collection of full-text e-journals in the humanities.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowa large multidisciplinary abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Covers over 19,000 journal titles.
- Worldcat (Free version) This link opens in a new windowA free version of Worldcat - connecting you to the collections of over 10,000 Libraries across the world, contains over 2 billion records.
Historic newspaper collections
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowa collection of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to represent nineteenth century Britain
- 19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new windowOver 100 19th century full text periodicals. Subscription covers part 1: New Readerships.
- British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowBritish Library Newspapers series I-V covering both British and regional newspapers between 1732-1950
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFrom database:
"This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries."
- Burney Collection This link opens in a new windowlarge collection of 17th and 18th century mostly English news media - over 1,270 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers - gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersFrom database:
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress."
- Eighteenth Century Journals: a portal to newspapers and periodicals, c. 1685-1815 This link opens in a new window"This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. ... Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion." (from: http://www.18thcjournals.amdigital.co.uk/introduction/index.aspx)
- Illustrated London News: Historical Archive 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowpresents a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science. Over 260,000 full colour pages, fully searchable and browseable
- Irish Times (1859-2012) and Weekly Irish Times (1875-1958)These archives present the history of Ireland and the world, through a unique perspective and historical context.
- Keesing's World News Archive This link opens in a new windowOver 100,000 full-text reports on the world's most historically significant political, social, and economic events, since 1931.
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1990)This historical newspaper provides the full text of every page, article and issue published since the first issue in 1881.
- North China Herald: 1842-1943Part of BRILL online, the The North China Herald is the prime printed source for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowmajor archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content
- Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) This link opens in a new windowFulltext coverage of The Guardian (1821-2003), The Manchester Guardian (1828-1959), and The Observer (1791-2003)
- The Times Digital Archive 1785-2009 This link opens in a new windowcomplete digital edition of The Times (London). Scanned original pages.
- The Times of India This link opens in a new windowcomplete browsable digital version of the Times of India covering the period 1838-2003.
- TLS (Times Literary Supplement) Historical Archive 1902-2014 This link opens in a new windowreviews, letters, poems and articles from over 5,000 issues of the TLSIdeal for research into the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th Century and 21st centuries.
- The Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals:1800-1900 This link opens in a new windowContains around 70,000 publications. Searching can be done by person, publication, town/county/country, issuing body or subject.