History: Mediaeval History
Guide to Resources in History
- Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new windowThis database is an electronic version of the complete print edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day. It runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. The entire Acta Sanctorum is available, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices along with Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers.
- Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature (ACLL) This link opens in a new windowover 500 medieval Latin texts written in Celtic-speaking Europe or by Celts abroad, covering theology, liturgy, computistics, grammar, hagiography, poetry, historiography, etc. Part of Brepolis Latin
- Aristoteles Latinus Database This link opens in a new windowthe complete corpus of medieval translations of Aristotle's works, including the unpublished works. Latin versions of these texts were the main tools for the study of science and philosophy in the Middle Ages. Part of Brepolis Latin
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina This link opens in a new windowThe BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. A total of approximately 13 million word forms are thus accessible electronically. The user interface allows various and differentiated searches. Classical scholars and ancient historians are provided with a valuable tool for both research and the preparation of teaching at school and university level. Each year, the database is extended by the texts of the newly printed Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Teubneriana
- BREPOLiS Latin This link opens in a new windowA database providing access to over 6,000 full-text e-books. Brepols’ home page includes access to the Library of Latin Texts Series A & B; Monumenta Germaniae Historica; Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature and the Aristoteles Latinus Database
- British Literary Manuscripts Online: Medieval and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowBritish Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen.
Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.
- Database of Latin Dictionaries This link opens in a new windowa collection of historical, semantic and etymological dictionaries and dictionaries to help translate from Latin into modern languages. Part of Brepols Latin Complete
- Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus This link opens in a new windowbased on a computerized Corpus comprising at least one copy of each text surviving in Old English
- In Principio: incipit index of Latin texts This link opens in a new windowdatabase contains over 1,000,000 incipits covering Latin literature from the Pre-classical Age to the Renaissance
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowBrepolis International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) contains articles from journals, collected essays, conference proceedings and Festschriften. Select the database from the list on the Brepolis homepage.
- Jacoby Online This link opens in a new windowcombines Felix Jacoby's monumental Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker and a new edition of Brill's New Jacoby, with new commentaries in English by contemporary scholars, as well as offering fully-searchable facing English translations of the Greek texts. Part of Brill Online
- L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new windowstandard Classical Studies bibliographical index for research in all aspects of Ancient Greece and Rome - language and linguistics, history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, science, papyrology, epigraphy, etc. Text of database is English. 20 simultaneous accesses
- Library of Latin Texts: Series A This link opens in a new windowOver 3,200 latin texts from Antiquity to the twentieth century. Part of BREPOLiS Latin
- Library of Latin Texts: Series B This link opens in a new windowComplementary database to Library of Latin Texts: Series A. Over 300 texts taken from existing editions. Part of BREPOLiS Latin
- Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new windowonline primary resources relating to written and early British printed material, covering the period 1000 to 1500
- Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) This link opens in a new windowdigitised full-text historical sources for Medieval and Early Modern Britain. Published by Tanner Ritchie with some material from the University of St Andrews Library's Special Collections
- Medieval and Early Modern Studies This link opens in a new windowprimary source materials covering social, cultural, political, science and religious perspectives from 12th to early 18th centuries. Sources include manuscripts relating to Arthurian legends, early music, renaissance man, masculinity 1600-1800 and medieval and early modern women as well as several other areas.
- Medieval Family Life This link opens in a new windowunique resource containing collected letters from five families from 15th Century England. Manuscript images are in full colour with accompanying searchable transcriptions
- Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new windowthree resources: Hyperbibliography, Middle English Dictionary; and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. Includes links to other related resources
- Parker Library This link opens in a new windowdigital collection of 538 English mediaeval manuscripts held by the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, which span from the 6th Century Gospels of St Augustine to 16th Century records relating to the English Reformation
- Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new windowThe Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The complete Patrologia Latina is included with all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new windowThe largest dictionary of Latin in existence, covering the language from its origin to c. 600 A.D.
- Thesaurus Lingua Graeca (TLG): a digital library of Greek literature This link opens in a new windowThe TLG database contains most surviving literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the late medieval period. [N.B. It's necessary to create an account in order to search the database. This enables you to use personalisation features such as saved searches.]
- Translated Texts for Historians E-Library This link opens in a new windowa 72-volume series of scholarly English translations of important historical texts, from 300-800 AD. In many cases, these sources have been translated for the first time, from Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian, Armenian and Old Irish.
- Archive Catalogue This link opens in a new windowsearch the records in the manuscripts and muniments database of the University Library's Special Collections.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new windowauthoritative guide to articles on British and Irish history, from the Roman period to the present day, from over 600 journals and essay collections. Covers British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and Commonwealth
55 BC - to present; updated 3 times yearly
- British History Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of freely available database containing British primary and secondary sources, and Premium sunscription content including Calendar of State Papers 1537-1714; Calendar of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland; Parliamentary Roles of Medieval England; and Calendar of Close Rolls
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowa database of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Over 58,500 people included