The Colonial State Papers offers access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. It is an invaluable resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery.

PDFs of over 200,000 House of Commons Sessional Papers. Covers 18th Century (1688-1834); 19th Century (1801-1900); 20th Century (1901-2004), and Current (2004 session onwards). Also includes the full-text of Hansard (1803-2005).

the Proceedings of the Scottish Parliament from the first surviving act of 1235 to the union of 1707

a searchable archive of 16th and 17th Century (1509-1714) State Papers and Registers of the Privy Council. Includes correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators

94 primary source texts which illustrate the Catholic response to Calvin's writings in 16th Century France, including both works attacking the precepts of Calvinism and those defending the Catholic doctrine against the criticism and condemnation of Calvinist authors
3 concurrent accesses

Book Sales Catalogues Online offers a comprehensive bibliography of book sales catalogues printed in the Dutch Republic before 1801, providing full access to some 4,000 digital facsimiles from ca. 50 libraries across Europe. The catalogues contain information on books from all over Europe in various languages, such as Dutch, French, and Latin.

a collection of approximately 30,000 16th and 17th century manuscripts, consisting principally of the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley (1520-1598) and his son Robert Cecil, the 1st Earl of Salisbury (1563-1612), both Secretary of State to Elizabeth I

Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

collection of edited correspondence linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century

a collection of texts offering a comprehensive survey of the original writings of the French Huguenot authors, 'from the first stirrings of radical dissent in the 1530s through to the end of the century'

a collection of 145 primary texts which summarise the diversity of the theological profile of the Italian Reformation, as held by the Fondo Guicciardini, Central National Library, Florence. (Please note that certain system requirements are essential in order to access this e-resource, including the requirement to download the DjVu browser plugin.)

fully searchable colour images of 65,000 items from the Bodleian Library's John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in the 18th, 19th and early 20th Centuries

contains over 61,000 primary source documents and books essential to the understanding of the social, political and economic development of the western world, from the mid-15th to the mid-19th century

online primary resources relating to written and early British printed material, covering the period 1000 to 1500

the electronic version of the series of registers and letters of the popes from the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries, preserved in the Archivio Segreto Vaticano in Rome

access to a large collection of primary texts from the 16th and 17th centuries, on the history of the Low Countries between 1486 and 1853. The Dutch Pamphlets series comprises the complete Knuttel collection of 34,000 pamphlets from the National Library of the Netherlands, and the Van Alphen collection of 2,800 pamphlets from Groningen University Library

digital facsimiles of nearly every book published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and other works in English printed from 1473-1700.

A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500–1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form. Early English Prose Fiction offers the full text of works by key writers such as John Bunyan, Sir Philip Sidney, Thomas Nashe and Aphra Behn, and has been produced in association with the Salzburg Centre for Research on the Early English Novel.
Part of LION (Literature Online)

traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the end of the 17th Century, with full-colour, facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources

A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift.

This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

large collection of 17th and 18th century mostly English news media - over 1,270 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers - gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).

newspaper collections from the British Library which span from 1732 - 1950 and include both regional and local titles reflecting social, political and cultural events of the times

Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion. Full text searchable transcriptions to every page.

Formerly known as Newsvault, Gale Historical Newspapers is a search engine that allows simultaneous search across a number of Gale newspaper: Burney Collection (17th and 18th Century Newspapers); Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006; Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003; Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers, Parts I and II; Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals; Times Digital Archive 1785-1985; Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005

This database is an electronic version of the complete print edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day. It runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. The entire Acta Sanctorum is available, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices along with Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers.

search the records in the manuscripts and muniments database of the University Library's Special Collections.

authoritative guide to articles on British and Irish history, from the Roman period to the present day, from over 600 journals and essay collections. Covers British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and Commonwealth
55 BC - to present; updated 3 times yearly

A collection of freely available database containing British primary and secondary sources, and Premium sunscription content including Calendar of State Papers 1537-1714; Calendar of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland; Parliamentary Roles of Medieval England; and Calendar of Close Rolls

details of over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly in the British Isles and North America, and mainly - but not exclusively - in English. From the collections of the British Library and 2,000+ other libraries. 1473-1800

database contains over 1,000,000 incipits covering Latin literature from the Pre-classical Age to the Renaissance

a database of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Over 58,500 people included

a collective database of all books published throughout Europe to 1650. Many of the books described in UTSC are extremely rare