History: Legal and Constitutional Law
Guide to Resources in History
Other online resources
- Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviationsa helpful guide to abbreviations used in English language legal publications as well as a wide selection of major non-English publications.
- Legislation.gov.ukfree official resource on UK Legislation
- League of Nations Archive (National Library of Scotland)Over 1,200 documents from the non-political organs of the League of Nations that dealt with health, disarmament, economic and financial matters for the duration of the League (1919-1945). Also online are statistical bulletins, essential facts, and an overview of the League by the first Secretary General, Sir Eric Drummond. These items are part of the Official Publications collection at the National Library of Scotland.
- League of Nations Total Digital Archive Project (LONTAG)A limited range of documents is currently available, but the project is set to complete in 2023 and aims to provide a complete free-to-access digital archive of League of Nations documents
- Westlaw UK This link opens in a new windowLegal database covering England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowprovides comprehensive coverage of legal history from inception. It includes more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals
- UK Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowPDFs of over 200,000 House of Commons Sessional Papers. Covers 18th Century (1688-1834); 19th Century (1801-1900); 20th Century (1901-2004), and Current (2004 session onwards). Also includes the full-text of Hansard (1803-2005).
Suggest a link!
If you have a suggestion for a resource that should go on this page, please send us an email (from your St Andrews email account).