International Relations: Area Studies
Area Studies
Copyright - Wellcome Library, London
Resources focusing on specific areas
In addition to the resources below many of our digital archives and news sources provide access to primary and secondary resources relating to one of more countries.
-
Africa ConfidentialNews and analysis of political, economic and security developments across Africa
-
Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new windowaccess to over 985 scholarly, full-text humanities and social science e-journals, and digitised material on Central, Eastern and South Eastern European topics
-
Chinese Studiesa link to our Chinese Studies guide, use the Databases & Online Collections tab and Newspaper tab to find a range of primary and secondary sources both current and archival
-
East View Databases This link opens in a new windowgives access to a variety of Russian databases and publications including The Moscow Times, Moscow University Press journals, Russian Social Sciences & Humanities collection, Literaturnaia Gazeta and Pravda Digital Archive
-
Pravda Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text, searchable archive from 1912-2015.
-
The Syria Report This link opens in a new windowThe Syria Report provides a host of on-demand information and advisory services, serving a global clientele of corporations, financial services firms, international organisations, and academic and research institutions.
Country Information
As well as the wide range of books, journals and news sources which cover events in specific countries there are a number of other useful resources available for finding detailed information on a country.
- Political Risk Yearbook and IHS Country Monitor Reports for over 100 countries cover the current economic and political situation for each country and often include a forecast for future years). Both sets of reports are available via the Business Source Complete database. Limit your search to publication type: Country Reports.
-
BBC Monitoring: Summary of World Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowBBC Monitoring was founded in 1939 at the start of WWII. Its purpose was to listen to radio broadcasts and gather open-source intelligence to help Britain and its allies understand global dynamics and assess emerging global threats. Over the next 60 years, the scope of its monitoring grew quickly. Trained specialists transcribed broadcasts of speeches, current affairs, political discussions, and social and cultural events worldwide. Transcripts, in turn, were translated into English, then read by experts who carefully selected critical content for publication. Finally, selections were summarized and curated into daily reports that comprise the Summary of World Broadcasts. These original daily reports often included commentary and evaluation by subject matter experts, as well as synopses and specialist briefings. Series 1:1939-1958 and Series 2: 1959-1973 available.
-
Nexis UK This link opens in a new windowIn addition to news articles Nexis provides access to country reports. Choose Market Insights on the toolbar to browse the following reports or search with keywords and then use the filters down the left-hand side of the results screen to refine to country reports.
- BBC Monitoring: International Reports
- BMI Country Risk Report
- D&B Country Riskline Reports
-
Passport This link opens in a new windowA range of datasets for individual countries. Includes economy, finance and trade data, political stability and absence of violence index and ranking, freedom of political rights index. Choose Search > Browse Tree > Categories and Topics > Go to access the data
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowincludes reports on countries and regions, indicators like GDP, national finance and demographics
-
Country Reports on Human Rights Practicesissues by the U.S. Department of State covering individual, civil, political and worker rights
gtag('config', 'G-LDCWK5LZZE');