Chinese Studies: Home
Search the Library
Chinese language resources
To search the library resources for just Chinese language material, first enter your search terms and then from the language filter on the left hand side of the screen, choose Chinese.
Not in the Library?
Can't find what you are looking for in the Library? There are a number of options available:
- Inter Library LoansIf we don't have a book or journal in stock we can get it for you.
- MorebooksAre there not enough copies of a book in stock? Would you like the Library to buy a book for your dissertation? Email morebooks@st-andrews.ac.uk and we will consider your suggestion.
- SCONUL Accessallows you to use a limited number of services at University Libraries in the UK. Complete the online form from http://www.sconul.ac.uk/sconul-access.
Get lean library for easier access to eresources
Ever been stuck behind a paywall for a journal article, newspaper article, or ebook?
Lean Library is a browser add-on that makes it easier to get access to these resources. Land on a webpage where you can't access a resource and Lean Library can give you a link directing you to the full-text version available through the Library subscription, or an open-access version. It saves you time looking for a login button or having to go back to Library Search to look up a title.
You can install the Lean Library browser add-on in most browser download.leanlibrary.com/
More information about Lean Library can be found in our guide libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/lean
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Learning and teaching resources
- Chinese Studies on the World Wide WebDirectory for resources on Chinese Studies from Cambridge University Library.
- The Internet Guide for Chinese StudiesDirectory of resources, created by the University of Leiden. Last updated 2009.
- Manchu ToolsFrom the University of Leiden. Manchu texts and objects around the world online & at your fingertips. Create a free account to access content.
- Modern Chinese Literature and Culture (MCHC) Resource CentreFull-text book reviews, web publications and current issue of the Journal Modern Chinese Literature and Culture. It also houses bibliographies of mostly English-language materials on modern and contemporary Chinese literature, film/media, visual arts, music, education, and culture. An image archive (see “Bibliographies”) is comprised mostly of images originally published with essays in issues of the print journal.
- Online Guide to East Asia (OGEA)Directory for resources on East Asia created by Berlin State Library.
- Paper Republic 纸托邦A free database of Chinese literature translated into English. It includes introductions to authors and, occasionally, author/translator interviews on its website, which also contains some advice and resources from more seasoned translators for aspiring/novice translators from the Chinese.
- PRC History GroupA range of full-text journals published by PRC History Group, links and other resources.
Librarian
Many thanks to Ros Holmes for help in compiling this guide.