Ebook Collections: JSTOR Ebooks

This guide highlights a range of ebook collections, giving details on the content of the collections, and how to use them

About JSTOR Ebooks

Logo 

JSTOR provides access to journal articles, books and primary sources.

The University of St Andrews has access to selected e-books purchased on the JSTOR platform, as well as Open Access e-books.   You can view e-book chapters online or download them as standard PDFs.  Books are supplied on a Digital Rights Management Free (DRM-Free) basis, so there are no limits on downloading or printing, and there are no limits on how many people can view the ebook at the same time.

Searching for a JSTOR Ebook

All of the JSTOR ebooks the University has access to can be found through Library Search

To search for a book enter the author, title or subject into the search box.  As you enter your terms four options appear in a dropdown list, Everything, Books, Articles and Rare books, click the Books option to limit the search to books

A screenshot of the search box. The words lurking under the surface has been entered in the search box. A list of limits is shown below the search box: lurking under the surface Everything; lurking under the surface Books; lurking under the surface Articles; lurking under the surface Rare books. The option for Books is highlighted with a red box around the word Books.

From the results pace you can limit the search to view ebooks only by choosing the  Available Online option in the filters on the left under the 'Tweak your results' heading:

Tweak your results. Show by relevance, downward pointed triangle provides a dropdown list of options. Show only Available Online which is highlighted; Other options are Available in Print, or Open Access

Accessing the ebook

Click the title of the book or 'Available Online to access the record for the book:

Screenshot showing the details of a book on the results page. Book: Lurking under the surface : horror, religion, and the questions that haunt us Brandon R. Grafius. Grafius, Brandon R., author.; JSTOR (Organization) 2022; Minneapolis : Broadleaf Books, [2022] Available Online.

From the ebook record click the 'view full text' link in the View Online section:

A screenshot of a book record. The details of the book appear at the top. The View Online section is near the bottom of the record. View Online: Full text availability. view full text is highlighted with a red box to show this is the link to access the ebook.

If you need to login to view a JSTOR ebook you'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Microsoft Office Single Sign in, where you enter your university email address and password.

JSTOR E-books video

Finding JSTOR E-books

All  JSTOR ebook titles can be found through Library search:

Enter a title, keyword, author, or a combination of these into the search box, and tick the E-Book only box.

From the results click the eBook button , if you need to login you'll be taken to the University of St Andrews Microsoft Office 365 sign-in page, enter your university email address and password.

You can also search directly from the JSTOR website:

  • Use the Advanced Search
  • Enter your search terms into the search box
  • Ensure the Select an access type box has the option Content I can access selected
  • In the Narrow results section choose Books.

Chat with us

Need help? Chat to Library Staff, Monday - Friday, 9.00-17.00 using the box below.  When "Chat with us" is unavailable email library@st-andrews.ac.uk with your question.

gtag('config', 'G-LDCWK5LZZE');