Ebook Collections: De Gruyter Brill E-books

This guide highlights a range of ebook collections, giving details on the content of the collections, and how to use them

About De Gruyter Brill Ebooks

Logo - De Gruyter Brill

De Gruyter Brill Ebooks provides access to DMR-Free* ebooks.  It provides books and journals in the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Law, Medicine, Natural Sciences, Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering.

The University has access to selected ebooks on the De Gruyter Brill Ebooks platform.

*Digital Rights Management Free = unlimited user access, download and keep as much content as you need in PDF format.

Searching for a De Gruyter Brill Ebook

All of the De Gruyter Brill ebooks the University has access to can be found through Library Search

To search for a book enter the author, title or subject into the search box.  As you enter your terms four options appear in a dropdown list, Everything, Books, Articles and Rare books, click the Books option to limit the search to books

A search box where the words 'climate change from the streets' has been entered. Beneath the box four options appear; climate change from the streets - Everything; climate change from the streets - Books, the word 'books' has a red box around the text to highlight this should be selected; climate change from the streets - Articles; climate change from the streets - Rare Books

From the results pace you can limit the search to view ebooks only by choosing the  Available Online option in the filters on the left under the 'Tweak your results' heading:

Tweak your results. Show by relevance, downward pointed triangle provides a dropdown list of options. Show only Available Online which is highlighted; Other options are Available in Print, or Open Access

Accessing the ebook

Click the title of the book or 'Available Online to access the record for the book:

Screenshot showing the details of a book on the results page. Book: Climate Change from the Streets : How Conflict and Collaboration Strengthen the Environmental Justice Movement Michael Mendex. Mendez, Michael, author.; De Gruyter. "020; New Haven, CT : Yale University Press [2020]Title is part of eBook package: De Gruyter EBook-Package Complete 2020 English.... Available Online

 

From the ebook record click the 'view full text' link in the View Online section:

A screenshot of a book record. The details of the book appear at the top. The View Online section is near the bottom of the record. View Online: Full text availability. View full text is highlighted with a red box to show this is the link to access the ebook.

If you need to login to view a De Gruyter Brill ebook you'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Microsoft Office Single Sign in, where you enter your university email address and password.

Using a De Gruyter Brill Ebook

All De Gruyter Brill E-books are supplied DRM-Free which means you can read, print or download chapters, and keep as much of the content of an ebook as you need.  There are no restrictions on the number of people who can access the ebook at the same time. 

When you access a De Gruyter Brill ebook you'll see a page which gives the details of the book. 

  1. On the right you'll see an option to View content - click this to jump to the table of contents further down the page.  For some titles there will be a blue box labelled Download eBook, where this is present you can use this to download the whole of the ebook.
  2. Use the Search book option on the right to search within the contents of the book

A Screenshot of the Ebook Climate Change from the Streets, showing the details of the book. Near the top right of the image a blue box gives the option to 'View Contents', to the bottom right of the image a beige box gives the option to 'Search book.

From the table of contents click the title of the chapter to read online, or click the Download PDF button.

A screenshot showing the contents page for an ebook on the De Gruyter Brill platform. The contents for the book display. Under 2. Climate Embodiment a red box is placed around the words 'Climate Embodiment' to highlight that you click this to read this chapter online. Under 3. Contentious Capitol Climates a red box has been place around 'Download PDF' to highlight this is how to obtain a PDF of the chapter.

Examples of De Gruyter Ebooks

Chat with us

Need help? Chat to Library Staff, Monday - Friday, 9.00-17.00 using the box below.  When "Chat with us" is unavailable email library@st-andrews.ac.uk with your question.

gtag('config', 'G-LDCWK5LZZE');