International Relations: Home
Databases for International Relations
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA full-text multidisciplinary database from EBSCO
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowBusiness Research database which also includes the Political Risk Yearbook and Country Reports
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowperiodicals archive of over 2,000 leading scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Over fifty million pages of content
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowa large multidisciplinary abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Covers over 19,000 journal titles.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowindex of articles from the world's leading social sciences journals,1970 - present; updated weekly
- Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new windowThe research, publications, speeches and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House). High level analysis and research in international affairs, economics, law, and business, diplomacy, security and terrorism, environment, development, war and peace studies.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowFrom the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.
The University has access to
• CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
• CIA Family Jewels Indexed
• The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
• Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
• The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
• Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
• South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
• U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015 - English Historical Documents This link opens in a new windowAn annotated collection of primary source documents on British history covering the years 500 -1914, plus American history to 1776. Includes documents on foreign affairs, government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, newspaper articles, personal and official letters and diaries.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowprovides comprehensive coverage of legal history from inception. It includes more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals
- The International Studies Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowa specialist reference work for the field of international relations and international studies. This resource includes specially-commissioned, peer reviewed essays on a wide range of topics including international law, peace studies, security studies, foreign policy and many other areas
- Westlaw UK This link opens in a new windowLegal database covering England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland
Relevant Named Collections
We have a number of named modern collections which are relevant to International Relations
- Avini CollectionA collection of texts and films in Persian donated by a range of institutions in Iran. Coverage includes the Iran-Iraq war. Part of the Iranian Studies collection
- Danchev CollectionBooks from the library of the late Professor Alex Danchev covering a wide range of topics including works in modern and military history, politics, terrorism, wars and Anglo-American relations. The papers of Professor Danchev are held in University Collections
- Iranian Studies CollectionA collection of Iranian books in Persian relevant to History, International Relations and Politics
Subject Guide
Hilda McNae
Contact:
Senior Librarian (Academic Liaison)
University of St Andrews Library, KY16 9TR
Tel: 01334 462298
University of St Andrews Library, KY16 9TR
Tel: 01334 462298
Get lean library for easier access to eresources
Ever been stuck behind a paywall for a journal article, newspaper article, or ebook?
Lean Library is a browser add-on that makes it easier to get access to these resources. Land on a webpage where you can't access a resource and Lean Library can give you a link directing you to the full-text version available through the Library subscription, or an open-access version. It saves you time looking for a login button or having to go back to Library Search to look up a title.
You can install the Lean Library browser add-on in most browser download.leanlibrary.com/
More information about Lean Library can be found in our guide libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/lean