International Relations: News Sources
Newspaper Collections
Below is a selection of news resources. Additional current and archival resources are available on the Newspaper subject guide
General Collections
- Nexis UK This link opens in a new windowregional, national and international newspapers covering 1985- onwards. Also includes newswires, country reports, transcripts of TV broadcasts, magazines and trade reports
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowRegional, national and international newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals. Also includes country reports useful for area studies.
- Keesing's World News Archive This link opens in a new windowcontains over 100,000 full-text reports on the world's most historically significant political, social, and economic events, since 1931. Over 1,000 worldwide news reports are collected daily and summaries published every month.
The Economist
- Economist This link opens in a new windowAccess to the online edition of The Economist since 1997 with sections on world politics, business and finance, economics, science & technology and culture. Includes articles, audio versions, podcasts and the app. Access to "The World in" and "1843 magazine" is also provided
- Economist Historical Archive 1843-2014 This link opens in a new windowfacsimile of the weekly paper covering 1843 - 2014
FT.com
- FT.com This link opens in a new windowAccess to the Financial Times newspaper and FT.com for the latest UK and international business finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis
The first time you use the FT.com you will be asked to register for a FT.com account after logging in with your University credentials. Check out our handy guide on Accessing FT.com for more information.
What can I get with FT.com?
- Access to the print replica of the newspaper, both for UK and other global regions
- Special reports for researching industries or countries
- Access to the in-depth section which aggregates and updates content relating to the key topics in the news, brings together headlines, comment and analysis, video, interactive graphics and special reports
- Option of using myFT to personalise your experience, follow news topics that are of interest to you, get alerts and save articles in a personal list
- Access to a mobile app for your tablet or mobile phone
Help and video tutorials are available on all the different tools and services available to you via FT.com
Specialist News Sources
- BBC Monitoring: Summary of World Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowBBC Monitoring was founded in 1939 at the start of WWII. Its purpose was to listen to radio broadcasts and gather open-source intelligence to help Britain and its allies understand global dynamics and assess emerging global threats. Trained specialists transcribed broadcasts of speeches, current affairs, political discussions, and social and cultural events worldwide. Transcripts, in turn, were translated into English, then read by experts who carefully selected critical content for publication. Finally, selections were summarized and curated into daily reports that comprise the Summary of World Broadcasts.
- East View Databases This link opens in a new windowgives access to a variety of Russian databases and publications including The Moscow Times, Moscow University Press journals, Russian Social Sciences & Humanities collection, Literaturnaia Gazeta and Pravda Digital Archive
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowallows you to select and search one or more of the following:
- British Library Newspapers
- Daily Mail Historical Archive
- The Economist Historical Archive
- The Illustrated London News Historical Archive
- The Telegraph Historical Archive
- The Times Digital Archive
- Mideastwire.com This link opens in a new windowA daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
- Pravda Digital Archive (1912-2015)Pravda was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. It remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation.
Proquest Historical Newspapers allows you to select and search one or more of the following archives:
- Chinese Newspaper Collection 1832-1953
- Communist Historical Newspapers (1919-2013)
- The Guardian & Observer 1791-2003
- The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2020)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1997)
- The New York Times (1851-2018)
- The Scotsman (1817-1950)
- The Times of India (1838-2010)
- World News Connection Archive 1995-2013 This link opens in a new windowa valuable research archive searching global events and issues. It includes unique editorial content from countries that have restricted information sharing with the rest of the world, and offers data from 1995-2013.