List of the databases you can use to access journal articles, reports, conference papers, ebooks, newspapers, and many other resources.
Last Updated: Sep 17, 2014
Below is a list of the top 5 most used databases this academic year, so far!
periodicals archive of over 2,000 leading scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Over fifty million pages of content
- Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection includes the Science, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes, Conference Proceedings Citation Index for Science, Social Sciences & Humanities, Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus.
full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), and allied publishers. Part of EBSCOhost. 1894 - present
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
full-text access to over 100 major religion and theology journals, and index to over 1,740 journals on all aspects of religion - including education, ethics, history, liturgy, observances, rites and theology. Part of EBSCOhost
1924 - present; updated every 3 months
- OCLC FirstSearch Databases
Access to: ArticleFirst; ClasePeriodica; Ebooks; ECO; ERIC; GPO; MEDLINE; OAIster; PapersFirst; Proceedings; WorldCat; and WorldCatDissertations. For on-campus links to individual titles please use the direct link under the name of the resource
If you have problems accessing resources when you are away from the University, we can help!
Check our Remote Access guide, we have video demos and screenshot examples of how to access lots of resources.
However, we may not have subscribed to every journal that a database lists. If you cannot access an article after you have logged in with your University username and password, check SAULCAT the Library catalogue for the journal title to see if we have access and what years this access covers.
Get in touch, chat, email, call (+44 1334 462283) or Tweet and we'll get back to you as soon as we can.
Here is a list of all of the databases you can access through the University. Use the tabs to find the database title you want.
We subscribe to many databases so that you can access journal articles and other material online.
Using this guide look out for the below information:
On-campus access: means you should not need to login and can access this resources seamlessly within the University network
Off-campus access: Click this icon where it appears next to a database for off campus details - most need your University Username and Password
If you have a question, please ask us! Chat below - chat is available 9am - 5pm, Monday - Friday. Outwith these times, please email us: firstname.lastname@example.org.