Digital Accessibility - Library e-resources

This guide provides information about the digital accessibility features of library e-resources. It is a developing resource which currently includes information about some of the Library ebook collections.

General features of the EBSCOhost eBook platform

This page provides information about the online reader and the landing page for EBSCOhost eBooks. It includes sections on the ease of use of the platform, navigation tips, download formats and available accessibility features. 

Below is a brief summary of accessibility features in the online reader. It is compiled as a standardised list of features, across all eBook license types (DRM-free, unlimited users and limited downloads, limited users and limited downloads). 

Downloading EBSCOhost ebooks.
Screen readers and text-to-speech software. 

Recommended screen reading software?
  • If using a Mac, I would suggest using VoiceOver.
  • If using a Windows computer, I would suggest using Narrator.

EBSCOhost's Accessibility Statement

eBook Formats in the Online Reader:

What eBook formats are available?

EBSCOhost eBooks are available in a PDF or in an EPUB format. Generally, eBooks will offer both formats, but some eBooks will only offer one.

Where to find the available formats on the landing page?

The available eBook formats are found in a section on the left of the landing page, to the left of the eBook title. They will have an icon (red PDF and green EPUB) alongside text that reads "PDF Full Text" and "EPUB Full Text." 

Changing Font Size/Zoom:

Currently, there is no option to change text size in an eBook in the online reader on EBSCOhost. Pages can be zoomed in up to 400% using the zoom in and zoom out buttons in a PDF and in an EPUB. The online reader has also been tested using screen magnifiers, ZoomText and MAGic.

It is useful to note that only eBooks in EPUB format support reflowable text. This means that as the page is zoomed in, the text will resize accordingly and will not spill off the page. 

Where to find the available font size/zoom options in the PDF and EPUB online reader?

The zoom in and zoom out buttons are found in the toolbar at the bottom right of the page.

Zoom in - img alt="A blue solid plus symbol inside a circle with a grey outline."

Zoom out - A blue solid minus symbol inside of a circle with a grey outline.

Page Layout:

There are different page layout options available in the online reader depending on whether the eBook is a PDF or an EPUB. Currently, only eBooks in a PDF format offer page layout options. eBooks in an EPUB format do not offer any page layout options as they support reflowable text. These options can be identified by specific icons.

Where to find the page layout options in the online reader?

The page layout options are found in the toolbar at the bottom of the page.

What page layouts do PDF formats offer in the online reader?

Fit page -  A grey page outline with the top right hand corner folded, inside of a square box with grey dashed borders.

Fit page width - A grey horizontal double-headed arrow, inside a grey page outline with the top right hand corner folded.

Full screen view - Four grey arrows pointing diagonally outwards from the centre, arranged to form an "X" shape. The bottom of the arrows do not touch.

What page layouts do EPUB formats offer in the online reader?

Full screen view - Four grey arrows pointing diagonally outwards from the centre, arranged to form an "X" shape. The bottom of the arrows do not touch.

Keyboard Navigation:

eBooks on EBSCOhost contain a Skip to Main Content link at the top left of the page in the online reader which allows you to skip unnecessary navigation links. To access this link, you need to:

1. Use the tab key from the top of the page which will open the eBook viewer region.

2. Use the up and down arrow keys and the tab key to navigate the menus.

Using eBook Table of Contents:

Using the table of contents on the landing page?

The table of contents on the landing page contains clickable chapter links. Clicking on a link will automatically take you to the chapter in the online reader. If there is both a PDF and an EPUB format available, the PDF format will be opened in the online reader. If there is one format available, only that format will be opened in the online reader.

What are the differences between the table of contents in PDF and EPUB formats in the online reader?

There are two table of contents in the online reader. There is a table of contents within the eBook, and another one which is generated by the online reader. Although the organisation of the table of contents might differ between the two, the contents within them are virtually the same. Both tables of contents can be clicked.

The table of contents in the eBook are different depending on whether the format is a PDF or an EPUB. The table of contents in an EPUB are clickable, whereas the one in a PDF is not. To skip to a particular chapter in a PDF, you will have to use the table of contents generated by the online reader, which is found in the Contents menu on the left hand side of the screen.

Save and Print options for EBSCOhost ebooks

To Save or Print from an EBSCOhost eBooks, select the PDF Full Text or EPUB Full Text options on the left of the screen to open the eBook.

4 options display stacked on top of each other. The first option is an index card icon labelled Detailed record. Beneath this is a PDF icon and the text PDF Full Text. Beneath this is an EPUB icon with the text EPUB Full Text, and beneath this in an arrow pointing downwards with a horizontal line beneath it, and the text Full Download. PDF and EPUB options have a red box around to highligh them.

You will be able to read all of the content of the eBook through the EBSCOhost online reader. Within the online reader menu, options at the top of the page allow you to print or save selected pages or chapters. The amount you can save or print varies for each of the eBooks but you can expect to be able to save or print at least 10% of the total content of the book.

How to save or print a page, page range or chapter

Open the ebook using the PDF or EPUB options. There is a toolbar at the top of the page which is the same for PDF and EPUB formats.

Saving pages:

A screenshot which shows the EbscoHost menu options at the top of the ebook reader. Four options are listed the first is a gray folder icon labelled Add to folder, the second, which is selected, is a Disc icon labelled Save Pages, the third is an envelope icon labelled e-mail pages, and the fourth is a printer icon labeled Print pages. As Save pages is selected a save pages menu displays. There's a save icon with Save Pages to PDF. Beneath is a yellow box with the text Page limit and a blue question mark in a white box and beneath this, Number of pages available: 50. Beneath this is the text Include in PDF, and beneath this are three options to select. The first option is selected, there is a blue filled circle with a blue outline circle for current page, beneath this is a Wihite circle with a black outline Current page and the next with a white text box with the number 0 in it followed by the word pages, beneath this as another white circle with a black outline This section: 16 pages. Beneath this is a yellow box with Save PDF in it, and next to this is the text Send as an email.

Click "Save Pages" in the top menu bar, and then select from the options to save the current page, or current page and the next (insert number) pages, or save this section. A section is normally a full chapter, or in some cases it may be a section within a chapter, the number of pages next to "this section" allows you to see how many pages you will be saving. Click Save PDF. The number of pages remaining from the save/print allowance will update when you save a PDF.

Printing pages:

A screenshot which shows the EbscoHost menu options at the top of the ebook reader. Four options are listed the first is a gray folder icon labelled Add to folder, the second is a Disc icon labelled Save Pages, the third is an envelope icon labelled e-mail pages, and the fourth, which is selected, is a printer icon labeled Print pages. As Print pages is selected a print pages menu displays. There's a printer icon with Print Pages to PDF. Beneath is a yellow box with the text Page limit and a blue question mark in a white box and beneath this, Number of pages available: 50. Beneath this is the text Include in PDF, and beneath this are three options to select. The first option is selected, there is a blue filled circle with a blue outline circle for current page, beneath this is a Wihite circle with a black outline Current page and the next with a white text box with the number 0 in it followed by the word pages, beneath this as another white circle with a black ouline This section: 16 pages. Beneath this is a yellow box with Print PDF in it, and next to this is a white box with the word cancel in it.

Click "Print Pages"  in the top menu bar, and then select from the options to print the current page, or current page and the next (insert number) pages, or print this section. A section is normally a full chapter, or in some cases it may be a section within a chapter, the number of pages next to "this section" allows you to see how many pages you will be printing. Click Print PDF.  The number of pages remaining from the save/print allowance will update when you print a PDF.

Downloading an Ebsco Ebook

Ebsco ebooks can be downloaded in full on a temporary basis.  We only recommend the download option if you are needing to use the ebook and you won't have reliable internet access, in most cases you should use the read online function.

Important information: If you download an Ebsco Ebook:

  • The download will be available for 24 hours
  • You will need to have either  the Calibre Ebook reader or Abode Digital Editions installed on your device - both are free software. Abode Digital Editions is different from Adobe Reader.
  • The download will be read only, you can't print from, save or annotate the downloaded ebook.

To Download:

  • Choose the Full Download option on the left hand menu
  • You will be asked to sign in or create an Ebscohost account, click the option to sign in.  The first time you do this you may be taken to the University of St Andrews login page, enter your email address and password.
  • In some cases you will be given an option for the format of the download, in most cases an Epub format is available.  Select the format you want.
  • Click Full download
  • The ebook will download, normally to you downloads folder in your device
  • Open the ebook from the download location, it will automatically open if you have Adobe Digital Editions or Calibre reader installed on your device.
  • After 24 hours you will not be able to open the ebook, you would need to download it again.

 

Using screen readers and text-to-speech software with EBSCOhost eBooks

Screen Reader Compatibility with EBSCOhost's Online Reader:

Note: Whilst this section will give an overview for which screen readers work with the above platform, there are many variables which can impact screen reader performance:

  • Browser - Different browsers may not function identically with certain screen readers like Read Aloud only being available with specific browsers. In general, this guide tested books using Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, and Safari. 
  • Software - When using downloaded content, the software chosen to open documents such as PDFs and EPUBS can impact on the functionality of screen readers. In general, this guide tested books using Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge's built in reader's for PDFs, and Calibre and Apple Books for EPUBS.
  • Document preparation: As eBook providers host titles from a variety of publishers, there can be significant differences in screen reader compatibility from title to title. For example, older PDFs are less likely to have OCR text, meaning it cannot always been highlighted or read by a screen reader. In general, this guide tested multiple eBooks for each provider.
Are screen readers compatible with eBooks in PDF format in the online reader?

NVDA (Windows) - No 

Narrator (Windows) - No 

VoiceOver (MacOS) - No 

Read Aloud (Windows) - No

Are screen readers compatible with eBooks in EPUB format in the online reader?

NVDA (Windows) - Yes - More information on using NVDA

Narrator (Windows) - Yes  - More information on using Narrator

VoiceOver (MacOS) - Yes  - More information on using VoiceOver

Read Aloud (Windows) - Yes - More information on using Read Aloud

gtag('config', 'G-LDCWK5LZZE');