Multimedia: Films and documentaries

Online films and documentaries

BFI Player
Over 11,000 archive films from the British Film Institute's national and regional archives.
Box of Broadcasts
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education; Users can record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and an extensive archive of tv and radio broadcasts. You can create and share playlists and clips. NB: BoB is NOT AVAILABLE outside the UK.
Ethnographic Video Online
documentary films as well as video covering human behavior the world over

EUscreen
free online access to thousands of items of audiovisual heritage. It brings together clips that provide an insight into the social, cultural, political and economic events that have shaped the 20th and 21st centuries.
Kanopy
Over 65 film titles selected to support module teaching at the University.

Moving Image Archive
The Moving Image Archive is Scotland's national collection of moving image held at the National Library of Scotland, the catalogue provides access to over 2,000 clips and full-length films.

Moving Image Archive (Internet Archive)
contains free digital movies, films and videos of all descriptions.

BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource
hundreds of TV and radio programmes from the BBC’s Shakespeare collection, as well as more than a thousand photos from classic Shakespeare productio

To access resource:
-select the item you wish to view
-select "watch"
-either register for an ERA account using your University email address
-or sign in using an already created account (University email address and chosen password)
OR
-Select "Sign in" from options at top of page.
-Follow registration/sign in intructions above

Search the library collections to find which DVDs and Blu-Rays are available.

Enter a title, keyword or director into the search box.

If you get a lot of results then you can refine the search by selecting Videos from the Resource Type option on the left-hand side of the screen.

Resource type list which shows Aricles (357); Book Chapters (249); Books (66); Conference Proceedings (2); Datasets (1); Dissertations (43); Magazine Articles (271); Newsletter Articles (1); Newspaper Articles (440; Reference Entries (5); Reports (2); Reviews (84); Text Resources (2), Videos (9). The Videos option has a red box surrounding the text.

This will display DVDs held in the Library and any films available to you through streaming services, see the options under Show Only to limit a search to DVDs or Streamed content only:

Show only: Available Online; Available in Print

Choose Available Online for streamed videos, and Available in Print for DVDs.

Some essential viewing for modules has been made available digitally so please consult your module reading list before searching the DVD collection.

Only some of the Library's DVDs and Blu-Rays are borrowable. If you do not have access to your own player then the Library has a small number of external DVD drives which can be borrowed from the Library Service Desk in the Main Library. A DVD and Blu Ray viewing station are also available on Level 4 of the Main Library for viewing any reference only DVDs.

Some of our DVD collection is held at the Walter Bower House Library and is reference only. Please contact library@st-andrews.ac.uk if you wish to view these titles. A DVD player is available at Walter Bower House.

gtag('config', 'G-LDCWK5LZZE');