Persian
Finding Articles
Journal articles can be found by searching electronic databases, There are both general databases, like Library search as well as more specific subject based such as MLA - Modern Language Association or CIAO, Columbia International Affairs Online. Please bear in mind that most databases will index both journals that the Library subscribes to and those that it doesn't. See Need something we don't have for more information about accessing the latter.
The A-Z is a complete list of all the Library's subscription databases.
Not living in halls or away from St Andrews? Our guide to Remote Access will help you connect with ebooks, databases and journals from off-campus.
Miniature from Jahangir's Album depicting the dedication of a book, possibly the record of an actual event at young Prince Salim's court (the later emperor Jahangir). Book dedications were common pictorial subjects in Persian and Mughal miniatures. Country of Origin: India. Culture: Islamic. Date/Period: c. 1600. Material Size: Paper, 42 x 26.5 cm. Credit Line: Werner Forman Archive/Formerly Teheran Imperial Library . Location: 18.. [Photography]. Retrieved from Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest.
http://quest.eb.com/search/300_3410876/1/300_3410876/cite
Databases
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIndex Islamicus Online is the international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Described as ‘an indispensable tool for libraries, graduates and undergraduates alike. The Index Islamicus Online provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 100 major religion and theology journals, and index to over 1,740 journals on all aspects of religion - including education, ethics, history, liturgy, observances, rites and theology.
- A-Z Databases This link opens in a new window
