Medicine: resources for Postgraduates: Databases and Off-Campus Access
Key Databases for Medicine
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowOvid MEDLINE is a powerful version of MEDLINE particularly suited to carrying out systematic reviews and other advanced forms of searching.
- OVID Embase via NHS Athens account3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. (Requires NHS Athens login.)
- Full list of NHS Knowledge Network DatabasesIf your topic is in a specialist area it is sometimes worth checking to see if there is an appropriate database. (Requires NHS Athens login)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection includes the Science, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes, Conference Proceedings Citation Index for Science, Social Sciences & Humanities, Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus.
- Library search This link opens in a new windowa single access point to many of the Library's e-resources - databases, e-journals, e-books and print books.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers over 2,500 scholarly journals on all aspects of psychology, as well as behavioural aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law and management. Compiled by the American Psychological Association. 1800's to date
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowa large multidisciplinary abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Covers over 19,000 journal titles.
- Cochrane Library"The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration." (No login required in the UK.)
- PubMedThe free version of Medline. If you have used this a lot in the past you may find it easier to search, but please note that it doesn't tell you whether the NHS or the University has access to any of the journals in it, you will have to check yourself. It is also difficult to use with RefWorks. (No password required.)
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFree database consisting of references to multidisciplinary articles, theses, books and abstracts. See https://libanswers.st-andrews.ac.uk/faq/93370 for information on how to set up your preferences to link to library journal holdings.
Off-campus access
There are two ways of accessing library resources off-campus. The simplest is to use your University login, referred to on websites as your Institutional or Shibboleth login.
It is important to note that just because a website has an institutional login it does not mean that we have access to the journal. You need to search using the Search box on the Library homepage or our E-journals database to check that we have a subscription to the journal and that it covers the year or volume that you are looking for.
See our Remote Access to Online Resources page for more information and detailed help.
Inter Library Loans
Any material that is not available online through the University we can get hold of for you through our InterLibrary Loans services. For further information see our ILL page, Journals can be sent to you by email, books will have to be picked up from the Main Library.
Health Psychology
More information on our psychology resources can be found on the Psychology Subject Guide.
Global Health
Please note that the first two resources only allow one simultaneous user. If you can't get in, please try again later.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowindex of articles on all aspects of human impact on the environment - global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc. Includes some Open Access full text. Part of EBSCOhost
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowbusiness research database containing over 2,300 journals in marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics; also includes market research reports, industry and country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Part of EBSCOhost. 1886 - present; updated daily
- SciELO (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary scholarly literature published in open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.
