Art History: Home
Art History Subject Guide
Reading Lists for Art History
Not in the Library?
Can't find what you are looking for in the Library? There are a number of options available:
- Inter-Library LoansIf we don't have a book or journal in stock we can get it for you.
- MorebooksAre there not enough copies of a book in stock? Would you like the Library to buy a book for your dissertation? Email morebooks@st-andrews.ac.uk and we will consider your suggestion.
- SCONUL Accessallows you to use a limited number of services at University Libraries in the UK. Click the link above for details of participating libraries and to complete the online application form.
Other useful subject guides & pages
- MultimediaAudio, Images, Films, Documentaries and Performances
- Museum StudiesSubject guide for those studying Museum Studies
- NewspapersInformation on print and electronic newspapers, both current and archives.
- Referencing SoftwareA guide to using software that helps you save your references and format them in the appropriate style for writing essays and dissertations.
- Referencing StylesA guide to the reference styles used at the University of St Andrews
- Remote Access to Online ResourcesAccess to journals, ebooks and databases from off-campus
- Services for students studying at a distanceInformation about our postal services.
- ThesesGuide to finding these at St Andrews and worldwide.
- University of DundeeTo use the catalogue to limit to items held in Duncan of Jordanstone, enter your search and then when the results page comes up limit on the right-hand side to DJCAD under the Library menu.
Search the Library
University Collections
The University Collections hold printed books, manuscripts, photographs and the University archive. Built up since the University’s foundation in the 15th century, these collections offer rich opportunities for teaching and research. Visit this site to search the catalogues and find out how to make an appointment.
For more information also see the full Library and Museums Collections web page.
Get lean library for easier access to eresources
Ever been stuck behind a paywall for a journal article, newspaper article, or ebook?
Lean Library is a browser add-on that makes it easier to get access to these resources. Land on a webpage where you can't access a resource and Lean Library can give you a link directing you to the full-text version available through the Library subscription, or an open-access version. It saves you time looking for a login button or having to go back to Library Search to look up a title.
You can install the Lean Library browser add-on in most browser download.leanlibrary.com/
More information about Lean Library can be found in our guide libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/lean
New Art History books in the Library
Subject Guide
Chat with us
You can chat online with a member of Library staff, this service is available:
- Monday - Friday 9am-5pm