Philosophy: Home
Department of Philosophy
Reading Lists for Philosophy
Click here to find electronic reading lists available in your subject area.
Library's A-Z List of Databases
- A-Z Databases This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to over 200 networked databases. Follow this link to see the full alphabetical list.
Welcome
Welcome to your Subject Guide for Philosophy.On this page you will find Key Philosophy Reference Works and Specialist Resources for Philosophy.
Use the tabs along the screen to find out more about:
Key Philosophy Reference Works
- Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion & CultureThis series offers specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works. Addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.
- Cambridge Histories: Philosophy & Political ThoughtAn online 29 volume set of reference works covering the history of philosophy
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineWritten by top scholars these authoritative research guides include recommendations on the best works available in each discipline, including books, chapters and websites.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online (REP) This link opens in a new windowA multi-volume reference work which is updated regularly with new entries by leading scholars. A useful feature is that each entry includes a Related Articles link enabling you to find additional relevant material on your topic
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThis useful reference work is maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field to ensure that it evolves with new research. Each entry includes links to related material and bibliographies.
Specialist Resources for Philosophy
- Historischer und Kritischer Kommentur zu Friedrich Nietzsches Werken (Historical and Critical Commentary on the works of Friedrich Neitzsches) This link opens in a new windowHistorical and Critical Commentary on the Works of Friedrich Nietzsche examines the philosophical, historical, and literary factors and contexts that inform Nietzsche's work. Note, only the first four volumes are available
- Past Masters: British PhilosophyIncludes the work of a number of major philosophers
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowcovers over 680 journals in philosophy and related inter-disciplinary fields - aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, metaphysic logic, political and social philosophy, & the philosophy of education, history, language, law, religion and science. Part of EBSCOhost. 1940 - present; updated weekly
- Philosophy CompassPeer-reviewed, state of the art surveys of current research in philosophy. Each survey discusses a topic and identifies relevant issues and controversies as well as highlighting connections across sub-disciplines within philosophy.
- Philosophy documentation center collection This link opens in a new windowtwo philosophy collections; InteLex Corporation's PAST MASTERS, a collection of full text electronic editions in philosophy; and the Philosophy Documentation Center's eCollection of over 80 scholarly journal
- Philpapers:Online research in PhilosophyA directory of online philosophical articles and books by academics in the field.
Legal resources
- Westlaw UK This link opens in a new windowLegal database covering England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowprovides comprehensive coverage of legal history from inception. It includes more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals
- Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviationsa helpful guide to abbreviations used in English language legal publications as well as a wide selection of major non-English publications.
Subject Guide
University of St Andrews Library, KY16 9TR
Tel: 01334 462298
Get lean library for easier access to eresources
Ever been stuck behind a paywall for a journal article, newspaper article, or ebook?
Lean Library is a browser add-on that makes it easier to get access to these resources. Land on a webpage where you can't access a resource and Lean Library can give you a link directing you to the full-text version available through the Library subscription, or an open-access version. It saves you time looking for a login button or having to go back to Library Search to look up a title.
You can install the Lean Library browser add-on in most browser download.leanlibrary.com/
More information about Lean Library can be found in our guide libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/lean