It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
key texts of modern African literature with unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing. Includes works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko and Nadine Gordimer - part of Literature Online database
An international bibliography in the field of book and library history, BHO "provides a comprehensive survey of all scholarly publications written from a historical perspective. Included are monographs, articles and reviews dealing with the history of the printed book, its arts, crafts, techniques and equipment, its economic, social and cultural environment, as well as its production, distribution, preservation and description.
British Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen.
Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.
Collected, uncollected and unpublished prose of T.S. Eliot. Currently includes the following 6 volumes - The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot, Apprentice Years, 1905-1918, The Perfect Critic, 1919–1926, Literature, Politics, Belief, 1927–1929, English Lion, 1930–1933, Tradition and orthodoxy 1934-1939 and The War Years 1940-1946
The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland. It contains over 9,000 signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language. An essential electronic reference for all scholars of Old and Middle English.
- Click in the Log in button at the top right hand of the screen
- Click on the sentence that says Log in via your institution
- Choose Show Organizations
- Click on the University of St Andrews
- then login through the SSO (Single Sign On) page, using your University Account Username and Password
"the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century." (from: http://www.e-enlightenment.com/info/about/)
"The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items: published between 1473 and 1800;mainly, but not exclusively, in English; published mainly in the British Isles and North America; from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries" (from web site)
The Register aims to identify all written sources which were incorporated, quoted, translated or adapted anywhere in English or Latin texts which were written, or are likely to have been written, in Anglo-Saxon England, including those by foreign authors.
Developed in the 16th century, the book fair catalogues for the Spring or Easter and Autumn or Michaelmas Fairs provided the widest possible overview of the books on offer during this period. Only when other sources of information began to take their place did they cease publication in 1860. The digitisation is based on the microfilming of the book fair catalogues from 1594 onwards.
"includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. ... the database also offers numerous biographical and critical essays prepared by leading scholars specifically for the project." (from database)
fully searchable colour images of 65,000 items from the Bodleian Library's John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in the 18th, 19th and early 20th Centuries
developed as the medium for reproducing broadcasts, The Listener (1929-1991) was the weekly newspaper published by the BBC. The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. As well as commenting on and expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, The Listener also previewed major literary and musical programmes and regularly reviewed new books. It also provided an important platform for new writers and poets, with W. H. Auden, Sylvia Plath and Philip Larkin being notable examples.
"The Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor and Armburgh Papers ... This resource contains full colour images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise these family letter collections along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions, where they are available. The original images and the transcriptions can be viewed side by side." (from database)
"an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources." (from web site)
Full-text primary sources for the 'long' 19th century (1789-1914). Archives include European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection and British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
biographical and critical accounts of the lives and works of women writers along with contextual materials relevant to critical and historical readings. Over 1000 entries for British women writers plus selected non-British or international women writers, and British and international men,
digital collection of 538 English mediaeval manuscripts held by the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, which span from the 6th Century Gospels of St Augustine to 16th Century records relating to the English Reformation
Full-text access to 190 full-text online editions in Philosophy and English Letters. Definitive editions of the works of seminal figures, and includes published and unpublished works, articles and essays, reviews and correspondence.
Access to the modern critical edition, the critical reference edition and authorship companion. Includes extensive explanatory and performance notes. Choose to read either edition or read noth, scrolling alongside each other for comparison
"searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2013." (from database)