It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers and Periodicals can be useful for providing access to book and theatre reviews as well as giving you an understanding of events at the time they were first reported. On this page you will find details of databases which allow you access to archival newspaper and periodical archive from 17th to 20th Century. If you are looking for more recently published information then please look at our Book Reviews Guide or Newspaper Guide
Fromerly known as Artemis Primary Sources, Gale Primary Sources is a search platform that allows cross searching of a number of Gale products including 17th to 19th Century newspaper, pamphlet and periodical archives.
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
- Select Login through your Library or Institution;
- Select UK Access Management Federation for Education and Research;
- Select University of St Andrews, and click Login;
- At the University SSO page enter your username and password.
developed as the medium for reproducing broadcasts, The Listener (1929-1991) was the weekly newspaper published by the BBC. Provides an insight into the intellectual and cultural history of the twentieth century, and also to the golden years of radio and television.