Film Studies: Newspapers for Film Studies
Subject guide to library resources for Film Studies
The Library provides digital access to many current and historical newspapers. These can be useful useful for reviews of films and to give an insight into cultural and social issues.
Below are the key newspaper collections available for Film Studies. Additional information about newspapers can be found on the general newspaper guide
Archival Newspapers and Periodicals
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowa platform for cross-searching multiple Gale resources at once including historical newspaper archives and digital primary source databases
The following newspaper titles are available:
- Archives Unbound
- British Library Newspapers
- China and the Modern World
- Daily Mail Historical Archive
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
- Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
- Picture Post Historical Archive 1938-1957
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection
- The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
- The Economist Historical Archive
- The Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
- The Making of the Modern World
- The Telegraph Historical Archive
- The Times Digital Archive
- The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
- Proquest Historical Newspapersa platform for searching one or more of the Proquest historical newspaper collections.
The following newspaper and periodical titles are available:
- American Periodicals 1740-1940
- British Periodicals 1681-1939
- Chinese Newspaper Collection 1832-1953
- Communist Historical Newspapers (1919-2013)
- The Guardian & Observer 1791-2003
- The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2020)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1997)
- The New York Times (1851-2018)
- The Scotsman (1817-1950)
- The Times of India (1838-2010)
Current newspapers
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva is a Dow Jones & Reuters Company news resource covering more than 14,000 international business and news publications, including The Wall Street Journal, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals; over 500 international news wires; media programs with transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, etc.; investment analysis; stock exchange feeds, etc.
- Nexis UK This link opens in a new windowregional, national and international newspapers covering 1985- onwards. Also includes newswires, country reports, transcripts of TV broadcasts, magazines and trade reports
- FT.com This link opens in a new windowAccess to the Financial Times newspaper and FT.com for the latest UK and international business finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis