Film Studies: Multimedia
Subject guide to library resources for Film Studies
- BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource This link opens in a new windowhundreds of TV and radio programmes from the BBC’s Shakespeare collection
- BFI Player This link opens in a new windowOver 11,000 archive films from the British Film Institute's national and regional archives.
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowBoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education; Users can record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and an extensive archive of tv and radio broadcasts. You can create and share playlists and clips. NB: BoB is NOT AVAILABLE outside the UK.
- Digital theatre plus This link opens in a new windowcovers classic, contemporary and international theatre. Includes over 450 leading theatre productions, in depth interviews exploring creative and technical theatre-making processes and essays and documentaries covering theatre history, theory and practical techniques
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowover 1800 documentary films as well as video, written ethnographies, field notes, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowan online streaming service providing access to films and top documentaries. Access is available to a small number of titles only, selected to support current teaching needs.
- Moving Image ArchiveScotland's national collection of moving image , over 2,000 clips and full-length films
- Poets on Screen Library (via LION)video clips of poets reading their own and other poets' work.
- British Library Sounds This link opens in a new windowPLEASE NOTE that content can only be accessed and played using FIREFOX browser.
Over 50,000 unique sound recordings from all over the world, covering the entire range of recorded sound - music, drama and literature, oral history, accents and dialects, sound recording history, wildlife and environmental sounds. Smaller subset of sounds is available without logging in at http://sounds.bl.uk
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowdigital sound database - 'the world's most comprehensive collection of classical music online' - containing the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues and titles from 50 other labels; allows streamed access to over 75,000 CDs with more than 1 million tracks. Over 800 CDs are added monthly; 7 concurrent-user access
- Opera in Video This link opens in a new windowfive hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries featuring some of the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses
- Poetry Archive Audio (via LION)recordings of important contemporary poets
- Shakespeare Audio Playsfully dramatised unabridged recordings of all of Shakespeares 38 plays. Each play is recorded by noted actors and includes sound effects and music to bring the plays further to life.
- ARTstor Digital Library This link opens in a new windowover 1.5 million digital images in arts, architecture, humanities & sciences, from international museums, photographers, libraries, photo archives, artists, etc. Also has relevance to anthropology, classics, history, literature, music, religion.
- ImageQuest This link opens in a new windowMillions of rights-cleared images that can be used by University students and staff for educational purposes. (Please credit photos with Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest and the date retrieved.)
- Photographic Collection (University of St Andrews Library) This link opens in a new windowAccess to the amazing wealth of photography held within the Special Collections Department of the University of St Andrews Library. Here you will find masterpieces of very early photography from one of the world’s outstanding collections, as well as thousands of images taken by masters of the art, both professional and amateur, over the last century and a half.
- SCRAN (Scottish Cultural Resources Access Network) This link opens in a new windowScottish learning resource base with over 360,000 images & media from museums, galleries, archives and the media
- University of St Andrews Image Database This link opens in a new windowa collection of images 'primarily intended to support research and teaching purposes within the University'. Includes the extensive Art History Slide Collection, and the Corpus of Scottish medieval parish churches
- Picture Post Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowunique archive of the complete Picture Post, the pioneering illustrated newspaper published in Britain between 1938-1957, and containing thousands of images
- UK Medical Heritage Library (UKMHL) This link opens in a new windowA open access database providing access to the images and full text of over 66,000 19th Century European medical publications.
- Illustrated London News: Historical Archive 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowpresents a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science. Over 260,000 full colour pages, fully searchable and browseable
- British Cartoon Archive This link opens in a new windownational collection of over 150,000 British social and political cartoons, the work of over 250 British cartoonists, held at the University of Kent; includes 15,000 cartoons from the Carl Giles Archive, which includes rare seaside postcards as well as political cartoons
- BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource This link opens in a new windowmore than a thousand photos from classic Shakespeare productions.
- The John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera This link opens in a new windowfully searchable colour images of 65,000 items from the Bodleian Library's John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in the 18th, 19th and early 20th Centuries