Classics: Home
School of Classics
Reference works
- New Pauly Online This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive practical encyclopaedia for scholars of the classical world. It comprises the English edition of Der Neue Pauly (the standard reference work of the ancient world) along with New Pauly Supplements I and II
- Der Neue PaulyThe original German language of the text, covering two thousand years of history and culture of Greco-Roman Antiquity and the reception of this in the two thousand years that followed
- Cambridge Histories Online - Ancient History and Classical StudiesA range of reference works including The Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Warfare, The Cambridge History of Byzantine Empire, The Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Political Thought, The Cambridge Economic History of the Greco-Roman World and The Cambridge World History
- Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowaccess to the 5th edition of the dictionary with new articles on gender studies, Late Antiquity, Christianity, Jewish studies, Near East, Bronze Age, linguistics and reception
Welcome
Welcome to your Subject Guide for Classics. It offers some basic guidance on how to find and use the Library's resources in this subject area. Some general resources for study and research in Classical Studies are listed on this page, with subject specific guides for Ancient History, Greek and Latin on separate pages (via the tabs above).
Specialist databases for Classics
- L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new windowstandard Classical Studies bibliographical index for research in all aspects of Ancient Greece and Rome - language and linguistics, history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, science, papyrology, epigraphy, etc. Text of database is English. 20 simultaneous accesses
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowThe Loeb Classical Library is a virtual library of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts - all that is important in Greek and Latin literature - together with accurate English translations, and critical and explanatory notes
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative research guides offering expert recommendations on the best works available (books, articles, websites, etc) on a huge range of topics, each written by an eminent scholar in the field.
- Oxford Handbooks Online - Classical StudiesAccess to over 40 Oxford Handbooks covering all major fields and sub-fields of contemporary research into Classical and ancient Mediterranean culture. While Greco-Roman language, literature, history, religion and philosophy continue to be dominant areas of scholarly interest which are fully represented in this module, growth-areas of research are also included, especially in material culture, epigraphy and papyrology, art and architecture, the sciences, engineering and technology, reception studies, and gender studies.
- Oxford Scholarship OnlineAccess to scholarly titles. Use the subject browse to view titles in archaeology and classical Studies Narrow your search to items available by ticking the boxes on the left hand side of the screen for "unlocked", "free" and "open access"
- Past Masters: Collected WorksPrimary source full-text electronic editions. The series includes the Complete Works of Aristotle (Greek and English) and the Collected Dialogues of Plato (Greek and English)
- Perseus Digital LibraryA digital library hosted by the Classics Department of Tufts University. Includes a large number of Classical texts as well as secondary literature.
- A Cornucopia of Classics Resources: Diverse Food for ThoughtPromoting Diversity and Inclusivity: A Cornucopia of Classics Resources is an ever-growing site that aims to streamline the development of more diverse and inclusive reading lists within the field of Classics.
Reference works for Classics
Subject Guide
University of St Andrews Library, KY16 9TR
Tel: 01334 462298
Get lean library for easier access to eresources
Ever been stuck behind a paywall for a journal article, newspaper article, or ebook?
Lean Library is a browser add-on that makes it easier to get access to these resources. Land on a webpage where you can't access a resource and Lean Library can give you a link directing you to the full-text version available through the Library subscription, or an open-access version. It saves you time looking for a login button or having to go back to Library Search to look up a title.
You can install the Lean Library browser add-on in most browser download.leanlibrary.com/
More information about Lean Library can be found in our guide libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/lean