Classics: Greek
Guide to Library resources in Classics
Greek
How to use the TLG
A selection of useful online videos on how to use the Thesuarus Lingua Graeca (TLG) are available.
The TLG Canon of Authors and Works
Additional video tutorials and help files are available.
Online resources
- L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new windowstandard Classical Studies bibliographical index for research in all aspects of Ancient Greece and Rome - language and linguistics, history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, science, papyrology, epigraphy, etc. Text of database is English. 20 simultaneous accesses
- Brill's New JacobyA revised edition of Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker (I-III) including authors and fragments unknown to Jacoby or excluded by him. It presents facing English translations of the Greek fragments, new critical commentaries, and entires about each historian’s life and works, with a select bibliography.
- The Cambridge History of Classical Literature Volume 1: Greek LiteratureThis series provides individual textbooks on early Greek poetry, on Greek drama, on philosophy, history and oratory, and on the literature of the Hellenistic period and of the Empire
- Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker, Parts I-IIIThis monumental series, edited by Felix Jacoby, contains the critical edition of 856 Greek historians whose work is preserved incompletely (i.e. in fragments). It is supplemented by the following 3 databases.
- Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker Part IVA work in progress continuing Jacoby's project, presenting original Greek texts with completely new translations and commentaries.
- Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker Part VAnother supplement in progress, giving the original Greek texts with translations (with commentaries) of the work of a further 96 Greek historians.
- Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopedia brings together the latest research from a range of disciplines which contribute to the knowledge of Ancient Greek. Full-text articles cover a wide-range of topics such as the Greek of various sources (texts, manuscripts, inscriptions, reading traditions), major grammatical features (phonology, morphology, and syntax), lexicon, script and paleography, theoretical linguistic approaches, etc.
[NB: for the correct display of diacritics download the Brill Truetype font Brill]
- The Encyclopedia of Greek TragedyCovers all facets of the distinct form of dramatic theater that flourished in ancient Greece and reached its apex in Athens of the 5th century BCE in order to facilitate a better understanding and appreciation of the great surviving works of Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides, and their contemporaries.
- Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität (LBG)The LBG [= Dictionary of the Byzantine Greek Language] is the foremost lexicographical resource in Byzantine studies, covering more than 3,000 texts, mainly between 4th-15th Century A.D. The first 6 fascicles (covering the letters A-P) are currently available online and have been linked into the texts contained in the TLG.
- New Pauly Online This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive practical encyclopaedia intended for everyday use by students and scholars of the ancient world. It comprises the English edition of Der Neue Pauly (the standard reference work of the ancient world - see below) along with supplements such as 'Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts' and 'The Reception of Myth and Mythology'.
- Der Neue PaulyThe original German text version of the above.
- Thesaurus Lingua Graecae (TLG): a digital library of Greek literature This link opens in a new windowThe TLG database contains most surviving literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the late medieval period. [N.B. It's necessary to create an account in order to search the database. This enables you to use personalisation features such as saved searches.]
Major reference works
- Patrologia Graeca (print)[= Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Graeca] A collection of writings by the Christian Church Fathers consisting of patristic and medieval Greek works with Latin translations. Available in the Library's Special Collections department - see http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/library/specialcollections/
Greeks fonts for submitted work
The School of Classics and the MMS team recommend the use of the Gentium unicode font for any passages of text in Greek that are included in your submitted coursework. See here for a guide to installing and using the font.
Subject Guide
Hilda McNae
Contact:
Senior Librarian (Academic Liaison)
University of St Andrews Library, KY16 9TR
Tel: 01334 462298
University of St Andrews Library, KY16 9TR
Tel: 01334 462298