The Library provides students with a variety of study spaces, resources and services to support your learning.  To get started with the Library we recommend that you:

• Take a guided tour of the Main Library (20-30 minutes) these are also available at quieter times.

The Library is for everyone, so come on a tour to find out more. Tour guides are current students at St Andrews, they're friendly and helpful and want to make you feel welcomed.  Library staff are also available throughout the year to answer any questions you have.

• Watch the video explaining online reading lists (3 minutes)

Tours are offered to all new students in the Main Library.

Drop-in tours take place on:

• Saturday 24th January between 12noon and 1pm
• Wednesday 28th January between 12noon and 2pm

Come to the Main Library and follow the signs for tours, we meet beyond the entry gates by the sofas in the concourse.  Please bring your student card with you, you need it for the entry gates.

Tours last 20 minutes, drop in any time during the time period scheduled.

Quieter tours 

these are tours of the which take place when the Main Library is quieter, they take place on Wednesday 28th January at 7pm and 7.30pm. We meet at the Main Library entrance.

Wednesday 28th January at 1pm in the Teaching Room on Level 1 of the Main Library

In this session you'll meet one of the Senior Academic Liaison Librarians who will cover the services, resources and facilities the Library provides to support postgraduate students. Find our about libraries and study spaces, online reading lists, how to search our collections, obtaining books from off-site stores and requesting scans, find out how to make use of rare books, archives, photographic and museum collections, learn where you can find the databases and specialist resources for your subject, and learn about the services available to help you access items not held in our collection.  There is a maximum capacity of 20 attendees per session, with attendance on a first come first serve basis.  At the end of the session there's an optional postgraduate study spaces tour.

Wednesday 28th January at 1.30 Main Library

This tour sets off outside the Teaching Room on Level 1 of the Main Library and will show postgraduate students around the libraries and study spaces which are offered exclusively to postgraduate students, including the PG space on level 1 of the Main Library and the Thomson Reading Room in Martyrs Kirk.  Meet our tour guides outside the Teaching Room on Level 1 of the Main Library.  You can attend this event as a standalone event or add it to the end of the Postgraduate Library Induction session which runs at 1pm-1.30pm.  Postgraduate students are also welcome to participate in Main Library tours.

Orientation tours take place at the beginning of each semester.  If you've missed out on in-person tours take a look at our recorded speedy tours. 

The Library how-to videos include information on searching the collections, and how to find books on the shelves and how to use our borrow and return machines.

For up-to-date information about the library spaces and opening times see the Library webpage.

If you have questions staff at the Helpdesk in the Main Library will be happy to assist.  Alternatively use the chat box on this page, or see our Contacts page for information on the many ways to get in touch.

You can chat online with a member of Library staff, this service is available:

• Monday - Friday 9am-5pm