Mathematics and Statistics: Home

JF Allen Library

The JF Allen Library is the University's main science library. Most textbooks for the sciences are held here although for research in some subjects or to consult older works you may have to use the Main Library.

It is located on the first floor of the Physics building on North Haugh. During the day it is open to all students.

For more information please see the JF Allen page on the Library website.

Search and Reference

Credo Reference
A collection of hundreds of major reference books including dictionaries, encyclopaedias and thesauri.

Includes Mathematics and Statistics reference works such as The Princeton Companion to Mathematics and The Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics.

Get lean library for easier access to eresources

Ever been stuck behind a paywall for a journal article, newspaper article, or ebook?

Lean Library is a browser add-on that makes it easier to get access to these resources. Land on a webpage where you can't access a resource and Lean Library can give you a link directing you to the full-text version available through the Library subscription, or an open-access version. It saves you time looking for a login button or having to go back to Library Search to look up a title.

You can install the Lean Library browser add-on in most browser download.leanlibrary.com/

More information about Lean Library can be found in our guide libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/lean

Find theses

St Andrews Mathematics and Statistics Electronic Theses
Search or browse by author or title to find these written by St Andrews University students.
How to find a thesis
Find theses that are not currently available electronically, or theses from different institutions.

Not in the Library?

Can't find what you are looking for in the Library? There are a number of options available:

Inter Library Loans
If we don't have a book or journal in stock we can get it for you.
Morebooks
Are there not enough copies of a book in stock? Would you like the Library to buy a book for your dissertation? Email morebooks@st-andrews.ac.uk and we will consider your suggestion.
SCONUL Access
allows you to use a limited number of services at University Libraries in the UK. Complete the online form from http://www.sconul.ac.uk/sconul-access.

Key Databases for Mathematics and Statistics

A full list of the databases available for Mathematics and Statistics can be found on the Library webpages.

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. (AMS platform)
Useful quick start guide: https://www-ams-org.ezproxy.st-andrews.ac.uk/publications/msn-quickstart-guide.pdf
MathSciNet via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. (EBSCO platform)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
a large multidisciplinary abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Covers over 19,000 journal titles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection includes the Science, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes, Conference Proceedings Citation Index for Science, Social Sciences & Humanities, Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus.
Statista This link opens in a new window
access to market and consumer data from 170 industries and over 150 countries. Includes reports on digital trends, markets and companies, politics and society and countries and regions
Library search This link opens in a new window
a single access point to many of the Library's e-resources - databases, e-journals, e-books and print books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
periodicals archive of over 2,000 leading scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Over fifty million pages of content

The MacTutor History of Mathematics archive
Includes searchable indexes such as: Biographies Index, History Topics and Famous Curve Indexes.

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
archive of over 855,000 open access e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics
Early English Books Online (EEBO) via Proquest This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for scientific primary texts and the history of mathematics.