Data Literacy for Social and Environmental Justice: Data
Overview
As well as the many sources for data which you will find online the Library subscribes to several databases which provide access to or which can help locate research data
Citing data
Data is like any other information resource and unless you have generated the data yourself it must be cited in the body of your work. This includes both primary data generated by others and secondary data which has been generated by others but made available to reuse and analyse.
Citation of data will depend on the style of referencing you are using and the nature of the dataset. Key elements of the citation which should always be present are:
- Author
- Title
- Date
- Location (usually a DOI or a specific link given to the dataset)
- Publisher
Resources for data
Licensed datasets available via the library
- Statista This link opens in a new windowaccess to data from over 150 countries. Covers numerous industries including Energy & Environment, Society, Economy and Politics and Heath.
- UK Data Service This link opens in a new windowAccess to a range of economic and social data from large-scale government surveys, multi-nation aggregate databanks and major UK longitudinal surveys.
- Digimap Collections This link opens in a new windowmaps and geospatial data. Collections available are Aerial, Geology, Environment, Historic, Lidar, Marine Ordnance Survey, Pilot
- Passport This link opens in a new windowBusiness intelligence on countries, consumers, lifestyles, markets and companies. A range of international market research.
- Data Citation Index (via Web of Science)This resource does not provide access to datasets but is useful if you want to search research data from international data repositories across multiple disciplines
- LSEG WorkspaceWorkspace can be used to find real time fundamental and historical data, for example, market data, M&A, ownership, ESG. An Add-in for Datastream allows you to retrieve time series data including equity, index, commodity and economic data.
Selected websites
- Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data) - is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines
- The Open Access Directory - This is a list of repositories and databases for open data.
- Data Cite - find and use research data. Provides DOIs.
- Figshare - makes available research outputs including datasets.
- Zenodo - 'an open dissemination research data repository' provided by CERN.
- Dataverse - an open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data. It is a set of data repositories that are hosted locally at different institutions. There are around 3,000 local dataverses with a total of 80,000 searchable datasets (the majority of them belonging to the social sciences).
- CESSDA (Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives)
An umbrella organisation for social science data archives across Europe. The CESSDA Catalogue provides access to research data from archives across Europe covering around 6000 studies distributed by members of the CESSDA European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC). The Catalogue enables users to locate datasets, as well as questions or variables within datasets. Data collections include sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data from the European Social Survey, Eurobarometer and the International Social Survey Programme.
-
Open Data resources - a list on UK Data Service site