Theses: How to submit your thesis (Key information)
Submitting a thesis
Update March 2022
A new e-only policy has now been introduced for the submission of research theses. The requirement for electronic only submission of the examination copy and the final Library copy of your thesis, which was introduced as a temporary measure during the pandemic, has now been made permanent.
MPhil/PhD students (examination copy) should submit their thesis for examination (including for re-submission) through Moodle.
MSc(Res)/MSt(Res) students should submit their thesis in MMS.
Electronic submission of the final Library copy is now made directly into the St Andrews Research Repository. Students will be able to follow the relevant links in MySaint which will direct them to register and then make their full text submission into the Repository. Students could also register and submit directly in the Repository. Print submission of the final Library copy is no longer required.
Another new requirement is that, in addition to the final Library copy in PDF format, students are also expected to submit an additional final copy in the original file format, for example in Microsoft Word. This new requirement is to help the University to digitally preserve our research theses.
Submissions of final Library copies into the Repository will go through two sets of checks ,the first by Registry staff and then subsequently by the Library E-Theses Team. At every stage of the process students will be given guidance by emails and by on screen help and will be advised as to the progress of their submissions.
Interim arrangements if you have already submitted your final Library copy into Moodle. The new submission procedure for the final Library copy is direct submission of full text into the St Andrews Research Repository. Previous procedures asked for submission of full text into Moodle and then separate registration with the St Andrews Research Repository to submit metadata about the thesis. The two steps are now combined into one streamlined process. If anyone has recently made a full text submission of their final Library copy into Moodle then it is likely that we will ask you to repeat that submission into the Repository when we invite you to register there. We hope this does not cause you any inconvenience and we will give you individual support to guide you through the process in this transitional period where the new process is being introduced.
The requirements apply to submissions for the following degrees:
|DEng||Doctor of Engineering|
|DLang||Doctor of Languages|
|MD||Doctor of Medicine|
|MFA||Master of Fine Arts|
|MPhil||Master of Philosophy|
|PhD||Doctor of Philosophy|
Key contacts and links
Library E-Theses Team firstname.lastname@example.org
Postgraduate Research team (Academic Registry) email@example.com https://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/pgstudents/academic/theses/
Research Data Management team (Library) firstname.lastname@example.org https://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/library/services/researchsupport/researchdata/
Digital Preservation (Library) email@example.com
Digital Accessibility Adviser firstname.lastname@example.org moody.st-andrews.ac.uk/moodle/course/view.php?id=13996
How to submit your final Library copy
- You will receive an email from Registry (Postgraduate Research) advising you that you are authorized to make your submission, and giving instructions
- Login to MySaint
- Navigate to the Thesis preparation and examination (PGR) tasks section
- Choose to take the Submit my final thesis (registration step) task. This task will take you to the Repository registration page
- On the Repository registration page enter your St Andrews username and password into the two boxes at the top of the display
- Ignore the Login button and instead move to the bottom two boxes on the screen
- We strongly encourage you to enter a long-term email address into the Preferred contact email box. This enables us to contact you after your St Andrews email address has expired, for example, to ask you about an embargo which is about to expire
- Enter details of your school/department/research institute into the final box. This enables us to assign your thesis to the correct repository collection(s)
- Now click on the Register button at the bottom of the screen which will send your registration details to the Library E-Theses Team
- Log out of the St Andrews Research Repository and await a confirmation email that your registration has been successful. You will not be able to continue with your submission until you receive confirmation that you’ve registered. We will complete your registration and send confirmation to you as soon as we can, usually within one working day.
- You will receive a confirmation email advising you to make your submission into the Library Theses collection. Once your submission is complete, the Library E-Theses Team will move your submission to the appropriate collection.
- Login to MySaint and navigate to the Thesis preparation and examination (PGR) tasks section
- Choose the Submit my final thesis (submission step) task. This task will take you to the Repository login page
- Fill in the two top boxes with your St Andrews username and password and then click on the Login button
- Go to the right-hand Browse menu and choose Submissions under My Account
- On the Submissions page select Library Theses collection from the drop-down menu
- Fill in as many details as you can about your thesis. For example you will be able to provide subject keywords to describe your work more fully
- Upload all required files. You need to upload at least two files (1) a PDF of your thesis and (2) the file that you created your PDF from, for example, Microsoft Word, LaTeX etc. You also need to upload redacted versions if these are required because of copyright issues or partial embargo. Supplementary data should also be uploaded here. See the Thesis LibGuide for further help on the files required, file-naming conventions and for examples of file description labels
- Remember that the research data underpinning your thesis should be deposited in Pure and not in the Repository. You should have received relevant information already from the Research Data Management team. For questions contact the team at email@example.com See the guidance on data underpinning theses for further help
- You are given the choice to attach a Creative Commons licence to your work if you wish to. See the Copyright and theses guidance document for further details about the options available for Creative Commons licences
- For the final step, you are required to grant the Deposit Licence to submit your work into the repository
- At any time before you complete your submission you can save it and come back to it later. Choose Save and Exit at the bottom of the screen to suspend your submission. You can return to it by returning to the Repository. Login again, navigate to submissions again and on the Submissions and Workflow tasks page click on the title of your submission. On the Item Submission page scroll to the bottom of the page and click on Resume