Social Anthropology: Home
Guide to Library resources for Social Anthropology
Key databases for anthropology
- Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new windowindex to over 800 current periodicals and films held by the Centre for Anthropology Library, The British Museum. Covers all areas of anthropology and archaeology; updated quarterly
1957 - present - AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowarchive of all 31 journals published by the American Anthropological Association, plus access to 11 current titles; updated regularly
Social, cultural and material culture
- Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new windowThe Mass Observation Archive is a huge database of diaries, directives, surveys, photographs and reports collected in the UK from 1937-1992
- Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new windowUsing primary source materials, Migration to the New Worlds provides insight into the stories of migrants from the UK, Ireland, Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia, in the 19th and early 20th centuries. A database of letters, diaries, government papers, pamplets, shipping papers, photographs, hand-drawn maps etc from a range of archival sources.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowBibliographies for both Anthropology and Latino Studies. Research guide written by scholars offering recommendations on books, articles and websites
- ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new windowFull text of poetry, drama and prose and literary criticism. Includes collections on Latino Literature, South and Southeast Asian Literature, Latin American Writers and Caribbean Literature.
- Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowa survey of current publications relating to film scholarship alongside filmographies. The database contains three different indexes: American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog; FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals; and the British Film Institute's Film Index International.
- South and Southeast Asian literature in English This link opens in a new windowshowcases the literary imagination and linguistic inventiveness of Asian writers as they negotiate their varied cultural identities. English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present and gives rich insights to scholars of literature, anthropology, linguistics, postcolonial theory and criticism, history, politics, and culture.
- World Scholar: Latin American and Caribbean History This link opens in a new windowA collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean, includes academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.
Biological and medical anthropology
- APA PsycNET This link opens in a new windowfor articles on psychology and the social and behavioural sciences
- Biosis Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowcited references to primary journal literature on biological and medical research findings
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowcitations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowa multi-disciplinary database which includes journals, e-books and reference works
Social science and humanities
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA full-text multidisciplinary database which includes the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collections covering topics in emotional and behavioural characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, observational and experimental methods.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowa large multidisciplinary abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Covers over 19,000 journal titles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowcore collection includes Social Science and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes and Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes
Help and Advice
Hilda McNae
Contact:
Senior Librarian (Academic Liaison)
University of St Andrews Library, KY16 9TR
Tel: 01334 462298
University of St Andrews Library, KY16 9TR
Tel: 01334 462298
Get lean library for easier access to eresources
Ever been stuck behind a paywall for a journal article, newspaper article, or ebook?
Lean Library is a browser add-on that makes it easier to get access to these resources. Land on a webpage where you can't access a resource and Lean Library can give you a link directing you to the full-text version available through the Library subscription, or an open-access version. It saves you time looking for a login button or having to go back to Library Search to look up a title.
You can install the Lean Library browser add-on in most browser download.leanlibrary.com/
More information about Lean Library can be found in our guide libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/lean
Key Collections
Social Anthropology books are located in the Main Library and include the following 2 collections.
- Centre for Amerindian Studies (CAS) CollectionMonographs and periodical parts covering a range of subject areas, mostly relating to Central and South America, and specialising in anthropology and languages. Much of the collection is in English, with significant amounts in Spanish and Portuguese and some works in Amerindian languages. Many of the items were donated by the late Rev. Douglas Gifford and others by Professor Joanna Overing
- Rubenstein CollectionBooks from the Library of the late Sr Steven Lee Rubenstein on anthropology, Latin American studies and the social sciences more generally. Dr Rubenstein's research was based on ethnographic fieldwork among Shuar people, an indigenous group of Amazonian Ecuador.