Remote Access to Online Resources: O-P

How to access online journal articles, e-books and use SEEKER when you are away from the University.

Full list of Databases

Whilst most databases are listed on this guide, there may be a few not included. A full list of databases can be found on our A-Z database list

Opera in Video (Music Online)

If you use the links to Opera in Video from the Library A-Z Database List, the link below, or find a login page through an internet search:

  • Select Log in at the top right of the Opera In Video homepage
  • At the login page in the Institution name or email address box enter University of St Andrews

  • Click University of St Andrews when it appears
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Opera in Video

Information from website (http://opiv.alexanderstreet.com/)

Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

If you use the links to Oxford Dictionary of National Bibliography from the Library A-Z Database List, or link below, or find a login page through an internet search:

  • In the Subscriber sign in area select Sign in via your institution

 

  • In the Institution search page, either select University of St Andrews from the list or start to enter University of St Andrews in the search box and select it when it appears
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

If you use the links to Oxford English Dictionary from the Library A-Z Database List, the link below, or find a login page through an internet search:

  • Click Sign in at the top left of the page

  • Under Sign in via your institution click Sign in
  • In the Institution search page, either select University of St Andrews from the list or start to enter University of St Andrews in the search box and select it when it appears
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Oxford Handbooks Online, Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Scholarship Online

If you use the links to Oxford Scholarship Online or Oxford Reference Online from the Library A-Z Database List, the link below, or find a login page through an internet search;

  • Locate the Login box at the left on the homepage and choose Sign in via your Institution

  • In the Institution search page, either select University of St Andrews from the list or start to enter University of St Andrews in the search box and select it when it appears
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Individual titles held in Oxford Scholarship Online and Oxford Reference Online will be listed in Library search.  

  • Click the green eBook icon

  • You'll be taken to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Passport (formerly Passport GMID - Global Market Information Database)

If you use the links to Passport from the Library A-Z Database List, or the link below, or find a login page through an internet search:

  • Select Shibboleth at the login page

  • Choose University of St Andrews from the list of organisations, and click Submit
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

About: Passport

full-text; online business information system providing key business intelligence on countries, consumers, lifestyles, markets and companies. It offers a range of international market research.

Off campus access: Choose UK Institution Users Login. 

Then select University of St Andrews as the organisation. Login with your University username and password.

Periodicals Archive Online

If you use the links to Periodicals Archive Online from te Library A-Z Database List, or the link below you'll be taken to the University of St Andrews Single Sign-on page:

  • Login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

If you access Periodicals Archive Online via an internet search you'll see this page:

  • Enter University of St Andrews into the Institution box and click Find
  • From the results click Log in next to University of St Andrews
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

About:

Periodicals Archive Online  Collections 1-IV
full-text; archive of hundreds of major full-text arts, humanities and social sciences journals, published between 1770 and 1995. It also includes journals of historical interest that began publication in the 19th Century. 

Click on “Remote Users: login via your home institution” (far right of screen). 

Select United Kingdom from the list of Regions and then University of St Andrews.

Project Muse

If you use the links to Project Muse from the Library A-Z Database List, or the link below, or find a login page through an internet search you'll be taken to the Project Muse homepage, there's no login option on the homepage, so choose the option to Browse, or search the collection for something you want.  At the results page:

  • Click "Log in" located at the top right of the page
  • Choose "Access via my Institution" and "Shibboleth"

  • Select United Kingdom (UK Federation) from the list of Federations
  • Select University of St Andrews from the list of Institutions
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

ProQuest Databases

The University has a range of Proquest databases including Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts; British Periodicals; the Cecil Papers; Colonial State Papers; the Digital National Security Archives, Early European Books; Ebook Central; Literature Online; Periodicals Archive Online; Proquest Dissertations and Theses; Proquest Historical Newspapers; Screen Studies Collection (AFI Catalogue, FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals, and Film Index International) ;and the Vogue Archive.

If you use the links to Proquest Databases from the Library A-Z Database List, or the links below you'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single sign-on:

  • Login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

If you access a Proquest Database via an internet search you'll see this page:

  • in the Institution box enter University of St Andrews and click Find
  • Select the Log in option next to University of St Andrews
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO

If you use the links to PsycARTICLES or PsycINFO  from the Library A-Z Database List, or the link below you'll be taken to the University of St Andrews Single Sign-on page:

  • Login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Or if you find a link to these databases via an internet search you'll see the login option below:

  • In the OpenAthens Login box select University of St Andrews and click Log In OpenAthens
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

If you access Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection from the link in the Library A-Z Database list, the link below , or via an internet search you'll see the screen below:

  • In the Select your region or group dropdown select UK Higher Education
  • From the list of UK Institutions select University of St Andrews
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk