Remote Access to Online Resources: I-N

How to access online journal articles, e-books and use SEEKER when you are away from the University.

Full list of Databases

Whilst most databases are listed on this guide, there may be a few not included. A full list of databases can be found on our A-Z database list

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

If you use the links to IEEE Xplorer in the Library A-Z Database List, the link below, or find a login page through an internet search:

  • Click Institutional Sign in near the top middle of the homepage

  • Select the Shibboleth option
  • In the Institution Search box enter University of St Andrews and click Search
  • Select University of St Andrews from the results
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

About: IEEE Xplore Digital Library 

Details from webpage (http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/aboutUs.jsp):

"The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.

IEEE Xplore provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.A

The content in IEEE Xplore comprises 151 journals, over 900 conference proceedings, more than 3,400 technical standards, over 400 ebooks and 200 educational courses. Approximately 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month."

Ingenta

You should only access IngentaConnect via the link in the Library A-Z Database list, or from the link below, attempting to use the Institutional login route from an internet search doesn't work.

About:

IngentaConnect is a hosting service which provides access to many e-journal subscriptions. 

Off campus access:

  • click on Shibboleth in the Login options on the right hand side of the screen. 
  • Browse through the list of Institutions and select University of St Andrews and click Go to Login
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

JSTOR

If you use the link from the Library A-Z Database list, or the link below you'll be taken to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page, where you enter your University username and password.

 

  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Or if you have found JSTOR through an internet search you should see the screen below:

  • Click Login Through Your Library located at the top of the screen
  • Enter University of St Andrews and click Search
  • Click the Login option next to University of St Andrews
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Individual e-book titles which we have access to on JSTOR will be listed in Library search.  

  • Click the green eBook icon
  • You'll be taken to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

LION (Literature Online)

If you use the links to Literature Online from the Library A-Z Database List, or the link below you'll be taken to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page, where you enter your University username and password.

  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

 

Or if you find a link through an internet search use the Institutional Account option:

  • Choose Login through your library or institution
  • From the Select your region list, select United Kingdom (UK Access Management Federation for Education and Research)
  • From the Institution box select University of St Andrews and click Login
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

 

Lyell Collection

If you use the links to The Lyell Collections from the Library A-Z Database List,the link below, or find a login page through an internet search:

Choose Login at the top of the Lyell Collection homepage

  • Select the Via Institution option under Library Users
  • From the Locations menu choose UK Access Management Federation
  • From the Institution menu choose University of St Andrews and click Select
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

About: Lyell Collection 

permanent access to the Geological Society of London's complete collection of earth science e-journals, Special Publications and major book series.

MLA International Bibliography (Via EBSCOhost)

If you use the link from the Library A-Z Database list, or the link below you'll be taken to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page, where you enter your University username and password.

  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Or if you have found MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCOhost)  through an internet search you should see the screen below:

  • Select Institutional Login
  • in the dropdown menu Select your region or group choose UK Higher Education
  • From the list of UK Institutions select University of St Andrews
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Nexis UK

If you use the links to Nexis from the Library A-Z Database List, the link below, or find a login page through an internet search:

  • Select Academic Sign-in
  • From the Select Federation box select UK Access Management Federation and click Go
  • From the list of Institutions select University of St Andrews
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

About:

Nexis UK 
covers regional, national and international newspapers, newswires, country reports, transcripts of television broadcasts, magazines, trade journals, etc