Remote Access to Online Resources: C-H

How to access online journal articles, e-books and use SEEKER when you are away from the University.

Full list of Databases

Whilst most databases are listed on this guide, there may be a few not included. A full list of databases can be found on our A-Z database list

Cambridge Companions and Cambridge Histories

If you use the links to Cambridge Companions or Cambridge Histories from the Library A-Z Database List, one of the links below, or find a login page through an internet search, click on Institutional log in near the top right hand of the screen

  • in Search by keyword, enter Andrews in the box, and click Search (NB: searching for St Andrews or University of St Andrews doesn't work)
  • choose University of St Andrews from the results
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Individual e-book titles held in Cambridge Companions and Cambridge Histories Online will be listed in Library search.  

  • Click the green eBook icon
  • You'll be taken to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Credo

If you use the links to Credo in the Library A-Z Database List, the link below, or find a login page through an internet search, Click Log in located at the top right of the Credo homepage

  • In the Search for your Library box start to enter University of St Andrews, and click the link when it appears in the results
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Digimap

If you use the links to Digimap from the Library A-Z Database List, the link below, or find a link through an internet search, Click Log in at the top right of the Digimap homepage

  • In the box Type the name of your organisation start to enter University of St Andrews, and click the link when it appears in the results
  • Click Sign in or Continue
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

EBSCO Databases

The University has a range of databases on the EBSCOhost platform, including Academic Search Complete; Africa-wide Information; America: History & Life with Full Text; ATLA Religion Database with Full Text; British Education Index; Business Source Premier; ECONLit; ERIC; Global Health; GreenFILE; Historical Abstracts; Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts; MathSciNet; MLA International Bibliography; New Testament Abstracts; Newswires; Old Testament Abstracts; and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection.

If you use the link from the Library A-Z Database list, or the link below you'll be taken to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page, where you enter your University username and password.

  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Or if you have found an EBSCO resource through an internet search you should see the screen below:

  • Select Institutional Login
  • in the dropdown menu "Select your region or group" choose UK Higher Education
  • From the list of UK Institutions select University of St Andrews
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

EEBO - Early English Books Online via Chadwyck Healey

If you use the links to EEBO in the Library A-Z Database List, the link below, or find a login page through an internet search

  • Click Login through your library or institution;
  • Select United Kingdom from the list of regions, then click Select;
  • Select University of St Andrews from the list of Institutions and click Login
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

About:

Early English Books Online (EEBO) via Chadwyck (ProQuest)
full-text; more than 125,000 titles published between 1473 and 1700, starting with the earliest printed works in the English language.

EEBO - Early English Books Online via Historical Texts

If you use the links to EEBO in the Library A-Z Database List, the link below, or find a login page through an internet search

  • Click Log in when you select an item to view
  • In the box Type the name of your organisation start to enter University of St Andrews, and click the link when it appears in the results
  • Click Sign in or Continue
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

Endnote Desktop - Using the Find Full Text tool

Here are the steps to set up EndNote to find full text PDFs for references when you are away from the University.

In EndNote go to:

  • Edit
  • Preferences
  • Find Full Text
  • In OpenURL path add:  http://www-library.st-andrews.ac.uk/resolver/
  • In Authenticate with:   https://ezproxy.st-andrews.ac.uk/login 
  • Tick "Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly imported references

  • Click Apply then Ok

Endnote - further information

For more information about using Endnote see the Referencing Software Guide

HeinOnline

If you use the links to HeinOnline from the Library A-Z Database List, the link below, or find a login page through an internet search

Select Login at the HeinOnline hompage

  • In the Off-campus/Remote Access box start to type University of St Andrews, and select it when it appears
  • Click Login
  • You'll be directed to the University of St Andrews Single Sign on page where you login with your University username and password.
  • Enter your username without @st-andrews.ac.uk

About: HeinOnline 

access to several legal research databases - English Reports 1220-1867 (full-text); Foreign and International Law Resources Database (full-text);HeinOnline's Index to Legal Periodicals and Law Journal Library (more than 1,250 full-text law and law-related journals)