International History and International Relations: Home
This guide is designed to introduce you to some of the primary and secondary resources which will support your module. The information included in the guide should provide you with a useful starting point for the essay based on archival material.
For advice on using these and other resources please contact Hilda McNae - email@example.com
- International History and International Relations byTaking a range of themes associated with international relations this book provides an overview of the main historical context, theories and literature in each of the areas and applies this to the study of international relations.
- History and International Relations byAn article on History and International Relations in Oxford Bibliographies: International Relations
- The International History ReviewThis journal is devoted entirely to the history of international relations and the history of international thought. Since 1979 the Review has established itself as one of the premier History journals in the world, read and regularly cited by both political scientists and historians. The Review serves as a bridge between historical research and the study of international relations.
Useful Reference Works
- The Shifting Balance of World Forces, 1898-1945 byISBN: 0521045517Publication Date: 1968-11-01Includes several chapters on Diplomatic History
- The Cambridge History of War: Volume 4, War and the Modern World byPublication Date: 2012
- The Globalizing of America, 1913-1945 byPublication Date: 2013
Items not on the open shelves - Summer 2022
Some of our primary materials are held in the Library Store or in the Martyrs Kirk Reading Room. However, we are happy to get them for you if you need them.
To recall an item from store:
- Find the item by searching the Library collections.
- Click on the 'Click and Collect' button
- Login to your account
- Click 'Submit'
- We'll email to let you know when you can collect your item from St Mary's Library.
Primary Sources of Information
Primary sources of information are original materials which include first hand testimonies or direct evidence from the time. The collections in the Main Library include diaries, letters and the records of organisations and government agencies. You will find additional primary sources of information in Special Collections, National Libraries and other Archives.
Primary Sources - Diplomatic Documents
- Avalon ProjectA project by Yale Law School to provide access to documents in Law, History and Diplomacy including the Treaty of Versailles.
- British Documents on the Origins of War 1898-1914This multi-volume work edited by Gooch and Temperley presents key documents in British Diplomatic History from 1898 to the declaration of war against Germany on 4th August 1914.
- British Documents on Foreign AffairsMulti-volume collection of documents from 1859-1914 and from 1917 onwards.
- British Foreign OfficeAdditional documents published by the British Foreign Office including correspondence and agreements between nations, inter-allied conferences and international conferences.
- The Cabinet Papers 1915-1988 This link opens in a new windowBrowse by theme or search across digital copies of The Cabinet Papers
- Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new windowDigitised version of the Chatham House's archive covering the 20th and 21st Centuries. The Archive contains almost 100 years of research, publications, speeches and archives of the leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House, London.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowFrom the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.
The University has access to
• CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
• CIA Family Jewels Indexed
• The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
• Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
• The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
• Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
• South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
• U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015
- Documents on British Foreign Policy 1919-1939A collection of documents on British Foreign Policy from the signature of Treaty of Versailles at end of the First World War to the beginning of the Second World War
- English Historical Documents This link opens in a new windowAn annotated collection of primary source documents on British history covering the years 500 -1914, plus American history to 1776.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) - Library HoldingsThis series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) 1861-1960This digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States (from 1861-1960) is a project of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with the University of Illinois at Chicago Libraries. Note that it is an incomplete run and not all volumes are available in full-text.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) -current volumesThis series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions. Recent volumes can be accessed online via State Department's Office of the Historian
- League of NationsThis organization was founded at the end of the First World War with the mission of maintaining world peace. A number of publications can be found in the main library.
- League of Nations Archive (National Library of Scotland)Over 1,200 documents from the non-political organs of the League of Nations that dealt with health, disarmament, economic and financial matters for the duration of the League (1919-1945). Also online are statistical bulletins, essential facts, and an overview of the League by the first Secretary General, Sir Eric Drummond. These items are part of the Official Publications collection at the National Library of Scotland.
- League of Nations Total Digital Archive Project (LONTAG)A limited range of documents is currently available, but the project is set to complete in 2023 and aims to provide a complete free-to-access digital archive of League of Nations documents
- The Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new windowcontains over 61,000 primary source documents and books essential to the understanding of the social, political and economic development of the western world, from the mid-15th to the mid-19th century
- UK Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowPDFs of over 200,000 House of Commons Sessional Papers. Covers 18th Century (1688-1834); 19th Century (1801-1900); 20th Century (1901-2004), and Current (2004 session onwards). Also includes the full-text of Hansard (1803-2005).
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveThe Digital Archive contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence and meeting minutes. It collects the research of three Wilson Center projects which focus on the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and Nuclear Proliferation
Primary Sources - News Items written during the First World War
Other useful resources
- Carnegie Endowment for International PeaceThe endowment was established in 1910 to advance the cause of peace among nations, to hasten the abolition of international war and to encourage and promote a peacefull settlement of international differences. A number of publications are available in the main library.
- HeinOnlineAccess to Foreign and International Law Resources Database (full-text). Includes The League of Nations Official Journal