Health Professions Education: Books, Papers & Articles
Image
NHS Resources
If you are employed by the NHS or teach students who undertake NHS placements, you might be eligible to access NHS resources. In England and Wales, this access is provided by your local NHS authority. In Scotland, it's through the Knowledge Network. This access includes numerous additional journals and databases.
Search the Library
Searching for resources
You can search all of our library resources using the search box above.
- Enter the title you need or a keyword to perform your search and tick the box to narrow to E-resources only.
- Not all of the resources you find in your results are available via the library. We should have plenty of resources you can use but if you do find something you would like to read but can't access then our library services page explains how to acquire them.
Key Databases
- British Education Index This link opens in a new windowprovides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK, with strong coverage of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowproduced by the US Department of Education. Provides access to education-related articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, books and monographs. 1966 to date
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFree database consisting of references to multidisciplinary articles, theses, books and abstracts. See https://libanswers.st-andrews.ac.uk/faq/93370 for information on how to set up your preferences to link to library journal holdings.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowOvid MEDLINE is a powerful version of MEDLINE particularly suited to carrying out systematic reviews and other advanced forms of searching.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windownearly 400 journals covering topics in emotional and behavioural characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, observational and experimental methods, and various areas of counselling. Content of the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is available through Academic Search Complete.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers over 2,500 scholarly journals on all aspects of psychology, as well as behavioural aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law and management. Compiled by the American Psychological Association. 1800's to date
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowa large multidisciplinary abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Covers over 19,000 journal titles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection includes the Science, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes, Conference Proceedings Citation Index for Science, Social Sciences & Humanities, Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus.
