This page lists the different financial and economic data resources available to you and provides information on how to access the resources and how to get help.

• Bloomberg - financial data
• Datastream (via LSEG Workspace - financial and economic data
• FT.com - financial and economic data
• LSEG Workspace (and Datastream) - financial and economic data
• Passport - economic data
• S&P Global Market Intelligence - financial data
• S&P CapitalIQ - financial and economic data
• Statista - economic and industry data
• UK Data Service - economic data

Bloomberg provides access to financial news, data and analytics including equities, indices, fixed income, currencies, commodities and ESG data

The databases is accessed via physical terminals in the Bloomberg Suite and priority is given to students who require Bloomberg for their programme of study and is by prior arrangement only.

Bloomberg Guide

Use the above guide to find out more about accessing the Bloomberg Suite, setting up your terminal account and how to gain Bloomberg Certification

Financial and macroeconomic data including data on equities, stock market indices, currencies and key economic indicators. Datastream is accessed via LSEG Workspace

LSEG Workspace is a product for analysing financial markets and provides access to financial data, economic indicators, news and analytics. 

 Workspace can be used to find real time fundamental and historical data, for example,  market data, M&A, ownership, ESG. An Add-in for Datastream allows you to retrieve time series data including equity, index, commodity and economic data.

Find out how to request an account for Workspace

Find out how to use Workspace on your own device or a University computer

Training Resources for Refinitiv Workspace:

• Quickstart Guide
• Getting Started with LSEG Workspace:  - a short video on how to use the formula builder to retrieve real time fundamental and historical data into Microsoft Excel
• Investigate and Analyse Companies Using LSEG Workspace - learn how to navigate available content at company level as well as approaches to screening and reporting on sets of companies, mergers and acquisitions, and IPOs

Access S&P databases

• The first time you use the resource you will need to register.
• Register using your University e-mail address and choose your own password
• Click on the confirmation e-mail and to access in future use your University e-mail address and the password you have chosen to use for S&P

Help with S&P Databases

• For access problems contact library@st-andrews.ac.uk
• S&P Platform Help - once you have logged into the database click on Help at the top right of the screen to access training materials. 
• A quick start user guide is available for the S&P Capital IQ Platform
• The Academic Resource Center includes videos ad other training materials