Business School: Management, Finance and Economics: Company Information
Company Profiles
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowbusiness research database containing over 2,300 journals in marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics; also includes market research reports, industry and country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Part of EBSCOhost. 1886 - present; updated daily
Once you are in Business Source Premier select the the Company Profiles button on the toolbar at the top of the screen.
Market Research
- Passport This link opens in a new windowBusiness intelligence on countries, consumers, lifestyles, markets and companies. A range of international market research.
Marketing/Advertising Strategies
- WARC (World Advertising Research Centre) This link opens in a new windowCase studies, conference proceedings, journal articles and data on advertising and marketing
Enter the name of the company in the search box at the top of the screen to find case studies, conference papers and other information relating to the company you are interested in. Note: WARC focuses on the companies with the most successful strategies and also companies demonstrating key trends in marketing and advertising.
Company Financials
The University subscribes to a number of financial databases which can be accessed on the Financial and Economic Data page. If you only require small amounts of data and require current figures for the company you are interested in then these can be obtained from the following databases:
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva is a Dow Jones & Reuters Company news resource covering more than 14,000 international business and news publications, including The Wall Street Journal, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals; over 500 international news wires; media programs with transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, etc.; investment analysis; stock exchange feeds, etc.
- FT.com This link opens in a new windowAccess to the Financial Times newspaper and FT.com for the latest UK and international business finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis
Finding articles on Companies
Specialist Databases like Business Source Premier have a specific index for companies which helps ensure you get more focused results.Change the option in the field box (next to the search box) to Company Entity.
Finding Case Studies
There are a number of ways of finding case studies.
Books
Many textbooks will include case studies.
If you have found a book which includes case studies then click on the title in your results list to see the full record. In the subject field you will find a link to other books on case studies in the area. For example, a book on nonprofit management has the following subject headings. Clicking on these will take you to a list of other similar books.
Journals
Some journals include case studies. If you are searching a journal database or searching within a journal then try entering the company name in to the search box and also the words" case study".
The Harvard Business Review is one example of a journal which includes case studies.
Internet
Some case studies are available free online. If you are using one of these then you must make sure it is from a credible source. Look who has authored the case study and at the methodology they have used to help you make a judgement. Professional bodies (e.g. CIPD), Government websites (e.g. Health and Saftey Executive) and the company's own website are all places you can look.