Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to the Gale Digital Scholar Lab
is a digital humanities tool that allows you to explore our Gale primary source databases in more detail and is designed to help you analyse and visualise historical texts Digital Scholar Lab
This resources is only available until summer 2022 and will then be reviewed. We would be interested in working with researchers who may find such a tool helpful so that we have a better understanding of the benefits it might bring. Please do get in touch with us by e-mailing
Access the Digital Scholar Lab
Collections available for searching
The Digital Scholar Lab is only available to use on the primary resources we have available on the Gale platform and not on all online library resources. You can choose to analyse text in 1 or more of the following resources:
19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Over 100 19th century full text periodicals. Subscription covers part 1: New Readerships.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
newspaper collections from the British Library which span from 1732 - 1950 and include both regional and local titles reflecting social, political and cultural events of the times
Burney Collection This link opens in a new window
newspaper titles and pamphlets from the collection of Reverend Charles Burney (1757–1817).
China and the Modern World This link opens in a new window
primary source materials from archives including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library providing an insight into China during the 19th and 20th centuries
Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2016 This link opens in a new window
includes both the Daily Mail Historical Archive and the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2014 This link opens in a new window
facsimile of the weekly paper covering 1843 - 2014
Economist Historical Archive 2016-2020 Supplement This link opens in a new window
Access to 2016-2020 supplement to add to our existing archival access from 1843-2015
The Listener Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
twentieth-century British culture as reflected in BBC broadcasts.
The Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
contains over 61,000 primary source documents and books essential to the understanding of the social, political and economic development of the western world, from the mid-15th to the mid-19th century
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
primary sources for the 'long' 19th century (1789-1914)
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
national and local news publications including major newspapers and those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's right groups, labor groups, the Confederacy and other groups.
Picture Post Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
unique archive of the complete Picture Post, the pioneering illustrated newspaper published in Britain between 1938-1957, and containing thousands of images
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive: Part I & 2 This link opens in a new window
primary resources relating to the history of slavery across the world. Part 1 covers debates over slavery and abolition and part 2 the slave trade in the Atlantic World
The Telegraph Historical Archive 1896-2016 This link opens in a new window
as well as reporting on domestic affairs The Telegraph published widely on foreign affairs and foreign cultures. The archive includes also the Sunday edition.
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2009 This link opens in a new window
complete digital edition of The Times (London). Scanned original pages.
TLS (Times Literary Supplement) Historical Archive 1902-2014 This link opens in a new window
reviews, letters, poems and articles from over 5,000 issues of the TLSIdeal for research into the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th Century and 21st centuries.
Find out more about the Digital Scholar Lab
Gale has provided some useful sources to help support you in your use of this new tool. This includes
videos on how to use the tool
details of the types of analysis that can be performed
sample projects so you can see how others have used the tool
All of these are available via the
Digital Scholar Lab Learning Center