Covid-19: Online Resources: Using Library Search

Searching the Library's Online resources

Library Search has a filter applied which restricts the search to finding only online resources.  You won't find any of our print resources. The filter is automatically applied:

How when you search you will only see results which are available online,  Some of these will not be available to you full-text.  

E-books

To only see ebooks (no journal articles etc) select the "Library Catalogue" filter on the left of the results screen:

On the right of an e-book details is an eBook button

Click the button to access the e-book.

You'll be asked to login, use your University username and password.  More information about e-books can be found on our E-books guide, or email Library@st-andrews.ac.uk if you experience any problems using e-books, or have any questions.

 

Journal articles

Some of the journal articles in the results won't be full-text.  To limit the results of your search to journal articles you have immediate full-text access to select "Full text" below the Article heading on the filter on the left 

The journal articles should all now be full-text articles.

You may not see the details of all the articles - for some you need to login, of you can't see any article details :

 

Click Login at the top left of the screen, and enter your username and password.

 

There will be a range of different buttons on the right of the article details to give you full-text access:

Where there's a PDF button use this to access the document, or use the Full Text button to view the web version of the article.

Some articles will have a button to link you to the database the article can be found on:

Use this if there's no PDF button.

For some articles you will only see a Find Full Text button 

When you click the Find Full Text button you'll be taken to our link resolver, which will give you a link (or a range of links) to access

Where there are multiple entries, check the date of publication for the article you want (see details to the right of the University logo) and then select the link which includes the date you need.

You may be asked to sign in, use your University username and password.

In most cases you'll be taken to the article details page on the database or publisher's site it's held on, look for a PDF or full-text option on the page.  In some cases you will be taken to the contents page for the issue of the journal the article is published in, scroll through the contents page and select the article you want.