Maps: Home
Manuscript and pre 1900 printed maps
Pre 1900 and manuscript maps are held in Special Collections
Older maps and those within manuscript collections are held in Special Collections. Although some manuscript maps appear on the online archive catalogue, many are uncatalogued, so please contact Special Collections for information about specific items.
There is also a paper catalogue for our map collection which can be found in the Reference collection
Please ask at the Library Service Desk for help.
Contact Special Collections to organise a time to consult pre1900 maps. Access to certain maps will require advance notice.
Digimap
Digimap provides online maps and geospatial data. It consists of two applications, one for viewing, annotating and printing maps online (choose the Roam option) and one which allows you to download data and load it into a GIS or CAD package (choose the Data Download option)
We have access to the following Digimap Databases
 |
Digimap OS - Ordnance Survey Maps of Great Britain |
 |
Digimap Environment - Land Cover Maps of Great Britain & Northern Ireland from Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH) |
 |
Digimap Marine - spatial data and marine charts for the waters around Great Britain |
 |
Historic Digimap - a range of historical OS mapping data from 1843 to 1996 |
 |
Geology Digimap - onshore and offshore BGS mapping data products
|
 |
Aerial Digimap - aerial imagery from Getmapping
|
 |
Lidar Digimap - Lidar data from UK Government Agencies |
Getting Started
Watch this Introductory Video to Digimap Roam using the Ordnance Survey Collection
NLS Georeferencer Pilot
An interesting interactive project
Here is information about this pilot from http://maps.nls.uk/projects/georeferencer/help.html:
"This pilot application offers an easy and enjoyable way to georeference historical maps, so that they can be displayed as an overlay in Google Earth and the Google Earth browser plug-in."
Freely available resources
- National Library of Scotland mapsFrom http://maps.nls.uk/about.html -
"In our 'Map images' resource you can access and view over 86,000 maps as high-resolution, colour, zoomable images. The maps date between 1560 and 1961 and relate primarily to Scotland. We also have maps of areas beyond Scotland, including maps of England and Great Britain, Ireland, and Belgium."
- Old Maps Online This link opens in a new windowa free portal giving access to over 400,000 historical maps in libraries around the world