It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is designed to introduce you to some of the primary and secondary resources which will support your module. The information included in the guide should provide you with a useful starting point for the essay based on archival material.
Taking a range of themes associated with international relations this book provides an overview of the main historical context, theories and literature in each of the areas and applies this to the study of international relations.
This journal is devoted entirely to the history of international relations and the history of international thought. Since 1979 the Review has established itself as one of the premier History journals in the world, read and regularly cited by both political scientists and historians. The Review serves as a bridge between historical research and the study of international relations.
We'll email to let you know when you can collect your item from St Mary's Library.
Primary Sources of Information
Primary sources of information are original materials which include first hand testimonies or direct evidence from the time. The collections in the Main Library include diaries, letters and the records of organisations and government agencies. You will find additional primary sources of information in Special Collections, National Libraries and other Archives.
Digitised version of the Chatham House's archive covering the 20th and 21st Centuries. The Archive contains almost 100 years of research, publications, speeches and archives of the leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House, London.
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.
The University has access to
• CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
• CIA Family Jewels Indexed
• The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
• Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
• The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
• Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
• South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
• U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015
This digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States (from 1861-1960) is a project of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with the University of Illinois at Chicago Libraries. Note that it is an incomplete run and not all volumes are available in full-text.
Over 1,200 documents from the non-political organs of the League of Nations that dealt with health, disarmament, economic and financial matters for the duration of the League (1919-1945). Also online are statistical bulletins, essential facts, and an overview of the League by the first Secretary General, Sir Eric Drummond. These items are part of the Official Publications collection at the National Library of Scotland.
PDFs of over 200,000 House of Commons Sessional Papers. Covers 18th Century (1688-1834); 19th Century (1801-1900); 20th Century (1901-2004), and Current (2004 session onwards). Also includes the full-text of Hansard (1803-2005).
The Digital Archive contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence and meeting minutes. It collects the research of three Wilson Center projects which focus on the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and Nuclear Proliferation
Primary Sources - News Items written during the First World War
The endowment was established in 1910 to advance the cause of peace among nations, to hasten the abolition of international war and to encourage and promote a peacefull settlement of international differences. A number of publications are available in the main library.