Royal Conservatoire of Scotland: Home

Library resources for staff and postgraduate students at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Useful Links

Referencing resources

We have a number of bibliographic referencing tools. More information can be found in our Referencing Software guide. Refworks is a web-based tool and can be used online without installing software. There are also some excellent free resources such as Mendeley.

Search the Library

Get lean library for easier access to eresources

Ever been stuck behind a paywall for a journal article, newspaper article, or ebook?

Lean Library is a browser add-on that makes it easier to get access to these resources. Land on a webpage where you can't access a resource and Lean Library can give you a link directing you to the full-text version available through the Library subscription, or an open-access version. It saves you time looking for a login button or having to go back to Library Search to look up a title.

You can install the Lean Library browser add-on in most browser download.leanlibrary.com/

More information about Lean Library can be found in our guide libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/lean

Useful Arts Databases

Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
index of articles from over 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and relevant articles, reviews, proceedings in more than 5,000 social science and science journals.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
offers over 650 major reference books - dictionaries, encyclopaedias, thesauri, biographies, books of quotations, atlases and quick reference works on every subject
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
periodicals archive of over 2,000 leading scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Over fifty million pages of content
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Full-text of more than 500,000 primary works (poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present) including rare texts, multiple versions and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances and author readings. Citations to journals, monographs,dissertations and book reviews, many of which are in full-text.
MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
index to papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies on literature, language, linguistics and folklore, from 1926 onward. Produced by the Modern Language Association of America
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
a collection of full-text e-journals in the humanities.

Reference Resources

Credo Reference is a collection of serveral hundred major reference books including dictionaries, encyclopaedias and thesauri with a number of reference materials for the arts including:

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Locations
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Media, Industry and Society
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Performance and Production
The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
The Harvard Dictionary of Music
Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia: A Comprehensive Guide to the World of Opera
The New Penguin Dictionary of Music
Opera: The Great Composers and their Masterworks