Divinity: Practical Theology
Guide to Resources in Divinity
Contents
Getting started
Good places to begin research on a topic or get a feel for a subject
- reference works
- introductory works
- e-resources
Internet resources
Links to websites and online collections of historical texts
Search the Library
Getting started - reference works
Dictionaries and encyclopedias provide short helpful summaries and useful bibliographies. These can be found in the Reference sections of St Mary's Library (bookcases in the middle of the King James Library) and in the Main Library (near main entrance). A number are also available online. Some key titles are:
New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral TheologyAs well as hundreds of articles on specific issues, this dictionary includes major keynote articles which provide a basic introduction to the main themes of Christian ethics and pastoral theology.
Dictionary of pastoral care and counselingThe entries in this very useful dictionary are thoroughly practical as well as theological, and each one has a bibliography for further reading or cross reference.
Dictionary of Scripture and EthicsThe foremost reference work available on the intersection of Scripture and Christian ethics.
The SCM dictionary of Third World theologiesAn introduction to the many theologies that have been developed in recent decades in Africa, Asia and Latin America.
Getting started 2 - introductory works
Here are some suggestions for good general introductory works to help you find your way in Practical Theology.
The Blackwell Reader in Pastoral and Practical Theology by A very good overview of pastoral and practical theology comprising classic readings with commentary together with newly commissioned articles.
Practical Theology in Action by Subtitled "Christian Thinking in the Service of Church and Society", this book provides a basic introduction to applying Christian thinking to Church and society. Issues covered include post-modernism, pluralism, black theology and charismatic theology.
Spiritual Dimensions Of Pastoral Care by This work introduces Practical Theology by exploring the way in which the spiritual dimension of pastoral care has entered into constructive dialogue with other disciplines such as psychiatry, counselling, and political studies.
Getting started 3 - e-resources
The titles below are examples of e-books and e-journals the Library provides access to. They are available in both electronic and print format.
The Cambridge Companion to Christian Ethics by With chapters written by leading international experts in Christian ethics this book provides a thorough introduction to Christian ethics which is both authoritative and up-to-date.
The Cambridge Companion to Liberation Theology by Call Number: Main Library BT83.57C2R7This new edition of a central introductory work brings the subject up-to-date.
Introducing Christian Ethics by The revised and expanded second edition of a best-selling textbook covering all aspects of Christian ethics.
Practical Theology journalThis journal is an excellent resource for finding the latest thinking on Practical Theology topics.
Images
The ARTstor image database contains a wide range of content related to Western and Eastern religious beliefs and traditions, including images of sacred texts, religious iconography, ceremonial objects, and places of worship, including temples, cathedrals, synagogues, churches, and mosques.
Info here.
A detail from a painted stone crest commemorating a former master of St Mary's College.
Internet resources for Practical Theology
A selection of useful Web resources for Practical Theology and World Religions. Mouse over the titles to see what they cover.
- BBC: religion and ethicsProvides an informative introduction to all major religions of the world as well as to ethical issues including euthanasia, human cloning, and genetic engineering. The site also offers links to the most recent relevant BBC news stories from around the world.
- Internet Guide to Religion (Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion)A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources on the study and practice of religion, taking in world religions, religious thought (e.g. liberation theology, ethical issues), aspects of religion (e.g. spirituality, religion and politics), and much more.
- Harvard Divinity School Center for the Study of World ReligionsOnline documents plus video and audio presentations of lectures and conferences on the interaction between religion and art, the environment, health, identity, place and politics.
- Center for Applied Christian EthicsThis research centre, based at Wheaton College, is dedicated to encouraging the consideration of contemporary practical ethics from the standpoint of traditional Christian values. A resource page includes online articles in PDF, and a links page provides access to related sites of interest.
- Society, Religion and Technology ProjectThe SRTP is a unit within the Church of Scotland which aims to promote analysis of the relationship between science, technology, religion and ethics, and to encourage discussion between professionals and the general public. It contains the texts of many of the Project’s reports on matters such as genetic modification, nuclear energy, and the Internet.
- Theology of the body.netA collection of online resources about John Paul II's theology of the body, aiming to provide insight into Catholic teaching on matters such as marriage and celibacy, sex and sexuality, contraception, and the nature of love.
- Theology and TherapyThe University of Edinburgh's Theology and Therapy Project investigates the way in which psychotherapy, Christianity, and "spirituality" have overlapped and inter-twined in the period 1945-2000.
- EthicsWeb.caA gateway providing links to websites on the full range of ethical issues.
- Oxford ReferenceFull text reference works including dictionaries of the major world religions.
- Academic RoomA new and growing online platform that was developed at Harvard University to facilitate interdisciplinary engagements among scholars and researchers around the world. It plans to make videos, audio and texts available and to provide a forum for discussion.
- Pew Research Center: Religion & Public LifePew Research Center is a US-based nonpartisan fact tank which uses opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven research to presnt objective information on a number of areas including religion.
- The ARDA: statistics on religionThe Association of Religion Data Archives website is an excellent resource for locating data on religion. While it has a strong U.S. focus, its Religion Research Hub has data on world religions on a global basis.
- The Forum on Religion and EcologyYale University's Forum on Religion and Ecology is the largest international multireligious project of its kind. As well as academic commentary it provides excellent bibliographies.